Group Blog
 
<<
ตุลาคม 2548
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031 
 
14 ตุลาคม 2548
 
All Blogs
 

PROOF (Miramax 2005)..why is it so special ?



PROOF

I have been waiting to see this movie so bad. Not that because it is good or anything nor am I a big movie fan. Well, at least as a theatre version it has been good enough to get a Pulitzer. Still, being on silver screen, I don’t see much hype about it even they got Hollywood magnets like Anthony Hopkins and Gwyneth Paltrow and the up and coming actor Jake Gyllenhaal ( whom I don’t really know but I heard he’s hot). This is pretty sad. World populations do not care about intellectual movie anymore. I don’t really understand. At least they should want to come and see my school…

I remember I got the same feeling when I had been waiting for months to see ‘The Beautiful Mind’ a movie about John Nash, a genius Maths prof with the beautiful Princeton scenes. Around that time I had been waiting to hear a much expected acceptance letter from Princeton and I planned to bring my parents, grandparents, relatives, friends and the whole village to see that movie and let them see my new school in USA. A Tiger hopeful, I was.

But since Princeton rejected me, I was so upset that I did not want to see it at all as if it's an estranged lover (if you don't count 1 time from DVD borrowed from a friend, it's a good movie indeed) and threw away all the Princeton souvenirs, stopped reading F.S.Fitzgerald and I got a sudden dislike of Orange color.

Not long had I been dejected because of not going to Hollywood-hyped school, I learned upon my arrival to Chicago, my new love.. that Hollywood was about to shoot a movie there. A much better movie about the Mathematics professor of UC who turns demented and with stories about his pretty daughter and a grad student, the plot sounds interesting and inviting. And my spiritual void would be filled, I was going to be a part of this much celebrated Chicago, the new world of pop culture will open its door, the erstwhile ‘When Sally met Harry’ which has been a symbol of UC for decades will be replaced by this much-exposed Chicago. And my school won’t be a haven for just to a group of nerdy, intellectual junkies anymore, tourists from Japan and China will come, money pouring in ..etc etc

One day, I went to an audition to be a 0.5 millisecond star but I won’t tell you here that I got a role or not, go find me in the movie yourself. I beg you, my dear readers and friends…please please go to see. It might possibly be the very last movie in the history of Chicago. Let Hollywood believes we can be sold, let nerdiness be capitalized, take us to the front row of Hollywood's pop culture.


P.S. See Gwyneth Paltrow bikes across Midway? It’s just like me. See the spikes of Harper? see the Quads ? Man, I just miss it there (but not the cold )

//www.miramax.com/proof/


(Article from Chicago Maroon)
* Delays keep Proof from silver screen
* Proof’s transition to big screen less than genius




 

Create Date : 14 ตุลาคม 2548
13 comments
Last Update : 15 ตุลาคม 2548 1:31:27 น.
Counter : 674 Pageviews.

 

ฮ่า - ฮ่า .. จะบอกว่าเหมือนเราเลย
เวลาเราดูหนังเรื่องไหนที่มีฉากนิวยอร์ค เพนซิลเวเนีย .. จะแบบว่าตั้งอกตั้งใจเป็นพิเศษเหมือนกัน
ดูไป ก็คิด.. เฮ้ ตรงนั้นเราเดินมาแล้ว ตึกตรงนี้ผ่านมาแล้ว .. อิ-อิ

พอเรียนจบกลับมาแล้ว .. เห็นหนังที่มีฉากพวกนี้ จะคิดถึงชีวิตตอนเรียนมากๆ เลย
...
...
บางทีถึงขั้นเหงาเลยล่ะ

 

โดย: ซีบวก 14 ตุลาคม 2548 23:30:05 น.  

 

ไว้รอดูๆ

 

โดย: ฮ ฮฮ IP: 61.91.167.186 15 ตุลาคม 2548 1:01:32 น.  

 

I wanna watch it tooooooo!!!!!!!!! had a couple of friends who went to see it already. One said it was okay okay... the other liked it a lot!
:)

speaking of which.... i have never even been on uchi campus yet. :( :( :(

 

โดย: no-i IP: 129.105.199.104 15 ตุลาคม 2548 1:10:19 น.  

 

โหลดมาแล้ว เดี๋ยวดูพรุ่งนี้
ที่อยากดูเพราะก็คำว่า "proof" นี่แหละ
ดูจบแล้วมาออกความเห็น

ตอนนี้ขอไป prove ต่อ

 

โดย: walras IP: 65.95.33.92 15 ตุลาคม 2548 3:11:09 น.  

 

K.walrus, you are more than welcome to share the story. None of us has seen this movie before ( I guess so)

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 15 ตุลาคม 2548 4:33:20 น.  

 

Please read grad school comic. It's fun.

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 16 ตุลาคม 2548 6:16:54 น.  

 

... เห็นป้ายโฆษณาว่าจะเข้าแล้ว อ่านแล้วยิ่งอยากพิสูจน์ด้วยตัวเองในโรงเร็วๆ ขอบคุณครับที่เล่าหลายอย่างให้อ่าน(ตามไปอ่านเรื่องเก่าๆที่เขียนไว้บ้างแล้ว ได้ความรู้เพิ่มขึ้นมากครับ)

 

โดย: "ผมอยู่ข้างหลังคุณ" 17 ตุลาคม 2548 0:16:10 น.  

 

เคยได้ยินไหมว่า...

"นักคณิตศาสตร์ที่เก่งๆ คิดอะไรได้ ในสิ่งที่คนอื่นๆยังไม่ได้คิด มักจะอายุน้อยกว่า 25 ปี"

เอาตัวอย่างที่เห็นชัด Prof.John Nash ผลงานของเขาที่ได้รับ Nobel Prize 1994 มาจากงาน Dissertation ของเขาปี 1949 เมื่อเขาอายุได้เพียง 21 ปี

Proof เป็นตัวอย่างหนังที่ confirm คำกล่าวข้างต้น

--- อันนี้เป็นวิจารณ์หนังแล้ว ---
หนังเรื่องนี้ ถือว่าอยู่ในระดับใช้ได้ ช่วงครึ่งแรกหนังค่อนข้างจะช้า อาจจะเป็นเพราะต้องการปูเรื่อง

พอดีเรานั่งดูที่บ้าน พอดูช่วงครึ่งตอนแรก ก็พักไว้ก่อน
เบื่อแล้วไปนั่งอ่านหนังสือสักพัก มาดูช่วงครึ่งหลังของเรื่อง

ช่วงหลังของเรื่องสนุกใช้ได้ทีเดียว ดูแป้บเดียว จบซะแล้ว
แต่ช่วงดูตอนแรกๆ โอ้โห หนังดูช้า นาน พาลง่วงนอน

เหมือนตามที่คุณ B.F.Pinkerton อ้างถึง ...

Anthony Hopkins เล่นเป็น Professor มีชื่อเสียงทางด้าน
คณิตศาตร์ แห่ง University of Chicago
ชำนาญด้าน Game Theory (ในเรื่อง ว่างั้น)

Hopkins มีลูกสาว 2 คน ดูเหมือนว่าคนเล็ก แสดงโดย Paltrow จะเก่งเหมือนพ่อ แต่ Paltrow ไปเรียน Math
ที่ Northwestern U.

เรื่องมันมีอยู่ว่า Hopkins ป่วย กำลังจะตาย Paltrow ก็เลยต้องมาอยู่ดูแลพ่อ ช่วงก่อนตาย Hopkins บอก Paltrow ว่า ตอนนี้ เค้า prove อะไรบางอย่างได้ อยากให้ Paltrow
ช่วยเขา prove ...........

ตอนนี้.. Hopkins ตายแล้ว ใครๆ ก็รู้ว่า Hopkins มีผลงาน
ทางคณิตศาสตร์มากมาย ที่เขาเขียนไว้ในสมุดโน้ตของเขา โดยมี Paltrow เป็นคนดูแล

Gallenhaal เล่นเป็นนักเรียนปริญญาเอก ของ Hopkins
(เราคิดว่า Gallenhaal พยายามเข้าหา Paltrow เพื่ออยากอ่านสมุดโน้ต Proof ต่างของพ่อ Paltrow ซึ่งก็ทำสำเร็จ)

Gallenhaal ไปเจอสมุดโน้ต proof ที่เค้าบอกว่า เป็นสุดยอด แห่งวงการคณิตศาสตร์

แต่ Paltrow บอกว่า มันไม่ใช่เป็นผลงานของพ่อเธอ...

ที่เหลือไปดูต่อเอง หลังจากนี้ เรื่องราวในหนังสนุกแล้ว

-----
ดูเรื่องนี้แล้ว อยากหาหนังสือที่เขียนเรื่องนี้มาอ่าน
-----

ปล. Jake Gallenhaal เคยเล่นหนังเรื่อง The Day After Tomorrow ตอนนั้นยังดูเด็กๆวัยรุ่นอยู่ ตอนนี้ก็ยังดูเด็กในเรื่องนี้ แต่พยายามไว้หนวดเครา เพื่อให้ได้หน้าสม กับ Paltrow

 

โดย: Walras IP: 65.95.33.81 18 ตุลาคม 2548 1:15:02 น.  

 

B.F.Pinkerton,i forget get to tell u one thing.

from yr previous thread, u r reading MWG book, i guess.

If u want MWG's solution book, pls let me know.





 

โดย: Walras IP: 65.95.33.81 18 ตุลาคม 2548 1:24:25 น.  

 

Got to go now. pls correct my wrong typing by yrself.

 

โดย: Walras IP: 65.95.33.81 18 ตุลาคม 2548 1:26:41 น.  

 

K.Walras

Thanks for the movie details, it seems like a cliché that might somewhat appeal to students like us but not to general audiences. I definitely will find the DVD of this movie or go to see at the nearby theatre.

Thanks for MWG solution, I appreciate it. But I will ask Noi first if she has all the solutions in pdf or not. Many thanks

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 18 ตุลาคม 2548 6:30:03 น.  

 

คอนนี้กำลังเขียน proof อยู่

 

โดย: คนบ้า IP: 203.172.117.46 11 เมษายน 2549 18:05:48 น.  

 

ชอบครับเรื่องนี้

 

โดย: คนขับช้า 5 ตุลาคม 2549 23:47:24 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


B.F.Pinkerton
Location :
Midway United States

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 3 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add B.F.Pinkerton's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.