Group Blog
 
<<
ตุลาคม 2548
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031 
 
4 ตุลาคม 2548
 
All Blogs
 

Meet the like-mind



Yesterday (Sunday) was such a bad day but it was also a memorable day for me. When compare between the good and the bad part I think the weight is more on the good side.

I went to study at Green Library until evening and happened to meet my new friends J & K by the time I was about to leave. They are nice Thai people whom I have just met here, all just newly arrived students. They go to SLS and GSB respectively. Since we are only a few non-tech people in this techie school and given our close ages, we seem to get together well. More than that, Tee is our mutual friend so we can get connected easily. Also J has known Pokpong since his days at Thammasat and it only makes the bond get stronger as we are the only 2 TU guys here ( the other 80% are from CU-ENG ) I am so happy to have known them as I used to think I would never have a friend to discuss about the state of social sciences or Thai politics here any longer.

So after we had dinner I waited for the last bus that go to train, however, I missed it for the reason I was not sure..my fault or the bus’s. That’s okay, I will wait for the next train I thought. But I didn’t notice that the Sunday calendar is slightly marked differently so no 11 pm train on Sunday. Shit ! I was left at the train station all alone in the dark. I was so frightened and felt the cold run through my spines. Had it been Redline Chicago I would have been mugged already. Fortunately I could catch a Midnight bus back to the campus and called J about it. So after I studied at the library ( wrote a homework Essay) until 3 AM I walked to his apartment which is located in a very good location just only a few steps from Green Library and it’s not that expensive at all, only it is a dorm style with shared bathroom/kitchen but the single room is much much larger than I-house at UC.

I went to J’s room and we talked about stuff until 4.30 a.m. It seemed like it could not be enough. I would love to share J’s life story which I think it’s very interesting. I might ask him for an official interview someday. He is one of the most interesting people I have ever met. We are like-minded. Our interests and past lives are incredibly overlapped. He is a guy with huge knowledge in social sciences, history, law with critical mind and sharp wit who hated conventional Thai classroom and did receive just a fair mark upon his graduation. That’s very much like me. Initially, he set his goal to get a MPP/MPA from leading public policy school before he got scholarship to study law. Amazingly, with his fabulous SOP culminated from his years of reading in philosophy, history and politics. He had been admitted to 2 of the most elite law schools in the country namely Yale & Harvard (coincidentally, I have known one of his foreign classmates- Mr.Munib K at HLS before from PR discussion board). It is very much fun talking about academic stuff, books, professors, Thai politics, judicial system, life goal etc etc. I admit that he is a real deal with true intellectual prowess.

It was one of my good experiences during the 2 weeks of school here. All I could say is people whom I have met are incredible. That’s one of the benefits to have come to the great institutions of higher learning. You will meet lot of interesting people. And I feel blessed and consider myself lucky every time I meet this kind of person, be it at Thammasat, Chicago or anywhere in the world.




 

Create Date : 04 ตุลาคม 2548
9 comments
Last Update : 4 ตุลาคม 2548 11:43:44 น.
Counter : 679 Pageviews.

 

dee ka, happy na

 

โดย: your baby IP: 221.128.96.27 4 ตุลาคม 2548 9:15:51 น.  

 

ดีครับ น่าสนใจๆ

 

โดย: h hh IP: 61.91.165.7 4 ตุลาคม 2548 22:03:10 น.  

 

glad to know that you get along really well with your new friends.

I would be happy to hear if you have something interesting to share all of us
^^

 

โดย: PoUpeE IP: 202.57.171.71 5 ตุลาคม 2548 20:16:56 น.  

 

Yo! How u doin' dude?
Long time no talk.
I usually go to Chicago a lot, like every other weekend. My brother ( your friend from OSK 113) is also with me. Let me know if you wanna meet up. you can send email to me at kritsan@hotmail.com

Ake.

 

โดย: TesT IP: 66.100.26.80 6 ตุลาคม 2548 1:17:08 น.  

 

Ake, who's your brother and who are you ? I am sorry but there are many Akes I have known, hope you don't mind.

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 6 ตุลาคม 2548 8:06:31 น.  

 

ohh...

 

โดย: PoUpeE (PoUpeE ) 6 ตุลาคม 2548 16:56:49 น.  

 

BF Hey Hey !!
Long time no see !!!!
How r u ?
I didn't know you are in US !!!
Glad to see you again though :)

 

โดย: ไม้ยมก&แหนมมัด 8 ตุลาคม 2548 23:19:01 น.  

 

เยี่ยมเลยครับ ... ยินดีด้วยครับ การที่จะได้พบและได้เป็นเพื่อนสนิทใครสักคน คงเป็นเรื่องยาก เพราะปกติ คนเรามีเพื่อนเยอะแยะมากมาย แต่อาจมีเพื่อนสนิท ที่รู้ใจ นั่งดื่ม เอ้ย นั่งคุยได้อย่างยาวนาน ไม่มากนักครับ

 

โดย: POL_US 9 ตุลาคม 2548 3:34:29 น.  

 

^_^ reading your journal inspires me a lot ka.

I am so proud of you and TU.

Thanks for sharing this great story.

 

โดย: ammy : TU alumni IP: 67.163.58.139 3 พฤศจิกายน 2548 15:22:14 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


B.F.Pinkerton
Location :
Midway United States

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 3 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add B.F.Pinkerton's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.