Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
<<
สิงหาคม 2550
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
 
22 สิงหาคม 2550
 
All Blogs
 

I Don't Wear Amulets Nor Yellow Shirts: Am I an Infidel?

==================================================================

I'm a liberal person. I'm doing scientific works in academia for a living. Thus, I believe in reasonings.... I really do.

I also believe that if two people use the same reasoning at a different place and time to justify one exact issue, although they've never met, they will come up with the same result (or, at least, similar).

Lately, in our Thai society, there are collective yet stupid efforts to "unite" the Thai... However, the ways of these efforts look absolutely absurd to me (i.e. wearing religion objects or wearing yellow shirts to signify something significant in our society).

I'm a Buddhist. I don't wear any amulet yet I "wear" Buddhism's philosophy and constantly apply it into my everyday life without practicing any conventional Buddhist's traditions. I believe I understand its philosophy well enough not to practice it. Despite without practicing it in the customary fashion, I still can be a good person for my family, friends, family, workplaces, societies, and elsewhere.

Shall we move on to the "yellow-shirt" issue?

Personally, I don't like the color yellow much. Thus, I've never bought any yellow clothes, and I won't wear it. Some people may taunt me as a disloyal manner to his majesty the King. If they justify my faithfulness towards his majesty with just not wearing a yellow shirt as a disloyalty, so be it. Let time and my outputs prove it otherwise.

If these acts (i.e. wearing amulets and yellow shirts) truly signify and reflect what it should be in our country, I can see a certain fate of our children and country--- nothing but chaos and calamity. We're living in a truly disastrous way of thinking.

Let actions and their ensuing results determine our fate and get serious upon our own responsibilities at our own hands. People, focus on what you ought to do!! Collectively, Those small yet collective efforts will truly help and result in a national prosperity....

Amulets and yellow shirts don't. Let's face it with a true reasoning, will we?

==================================================================




 

Create Date : 22 สิงหาคม 2550
2 comments
Last Update : 22 สิงหาคม 2550 23:30:12 น.
Counter : 559 Pageviews.

 

ใครๆก้อชอบบอกว่า คนเรียนวิทยาศาสตร์มักไม่เชื่อเรื่องไสยศาสตร์ ดูท่าจะจริงนะคะ

คนบางคนไม่ได้ต้องการศาสนาเป็นเพียงเครื่องยึดเหนี่ยวจิตใจหรือต้องการคำสอนเป็นเพียงหลักในการดำเนินชีวิตหรอกค่ะ เค้าต้องการปาฏิหารย์ค่ะ เช่นเพื่อให้รวยทางลัด หรือเพื่อให้คนป่วยใกล้ตายกลับหายได้ เพื่อให้อุบัติเหตุที่ร้ายแรงไม่สามารถทำให้พิการหรือเสียชีวิต ฯลฯ เค้าเลยยึดเอาวัตถุเป็นตัวสร้างพลังใจไงคะ

เราสังเกตุว่ามนุษย์เราไม่ว่าจะนับถือศาสนาอะไร ถ้ามีความศรัทธาในสิ่งใดสิ่งหนึ่งมากๆ ก้อสามารถทำสิ่งที่ดูเหมือนจะเป็นไปไม่ได้ให้เป็นไปได้ค่ะ

เช่นเราจะสวดมนต์บทหนึ่งเพื่อขอให้ทำงานชิ้นนึงสำเร็จ ทั้งที่เปอร์เซนต์มันมีน้อยเหลือเกิน แต่พอสวดแล้วทำไมทำสำเร็จ จะว่าเป็นเพราะมีสิ่งศักดิ์สิทธิ์มาช่วยทำให้สำเร็จ ก้อไม่ใช่ มันมาจากสองมือเราทำเองนี่ไง แต่น่าจะเป็นเพราะบทสวดมนต์ทำให้เราได้ปลดความกังวลไปส่วนหนึ่ง แล้วสร้างความหวังมาให้กล้าที่จะก้าวไปข้างหน้าต่อ เพราะเชื่อว่าสวดแล้วต้องทำได้ แทนที่จะหมดหวังล้มเลิกความตั้งใจ มันเลยสำเร็จได้ไงคะ ก้อเหมือนกับการมีเครื่องรางของขลังไว้ในครอบครองทำให้มีพลังใจ ถือได้ว่าวัตถุหรืออะไรก้อตามที่เค้าฮิตสวมใส่กัน หรือบูชากันไม่ใช่เพื่อดำเนินชีวิต แต่เพื่อการมีชีวิตมากกว่าค่ะ

ส่วนเสื้อเหลือง เห็นเพื่อนๆแห่ไปซื้อมาใส่ไปทำงาน เพราะเค้าบอกว่า มันราคาถูกแล้วก้อไม่ต้องห่วงแฟชั่นว่าใครจะมาว่าเราใส่เสื้อผ้าซ้ำกันบ่อยๆ เพราะใครๆเค้าก้อใส่กัน เพื่อนๆผู้หญิงปกติกว่าจะออกบ้านไปทำงานได้ ใช้เวลาแต่งองค์ทรงเครื่องสองชั่วโมง แต่พอมีเสื้อเหลืองแล้ว ครึ่งชั่วโมงก้อเสร็จ ก้อดีนะคะมีข้อดีไปอีกแบบ แต่ที่บอกว่าใส่เพราะรักในหลวงไม่ใช่เหตุผลหลักเลยค่ะ

ว่าแต่ ลองทำไอศครีมแล้วยังคะ สำเร็จมั๊ยคะ ^^

 

โดย: enjoymiracle 24 สิงหาคม 2550 4:24:48 น.  

 

I also don't believe that you should not judge people by what they're wearing krub. One can show their love for the King without having to wear yellow shirts or any other kind of accessories.

But you know what krub, I've brought tonnes of yellow shirts from Thailand and I'm still wearing them to school two to three days a week krub. Sometimes people in class just stare at me like I'm a freak because they see me in yellow quite too often but I don't care krub. One of my reasons is the same as mentioned above by K enjoymiracle krub. It would only take me 2 minutes to get dressed and out the door to my little bus stop each morning.

 

โดย: ruiN 28 สิงหาคม 2550 7:17:18 น.  

ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
  *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 


amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.