Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
 
กุมภาพันธ์ 2549
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728 
 
28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549
 
All Blogs
 
Reflections of cultural differences (Sports)

Hello,

First of all, I would like to express my objectives in writing this series. I'm totally Thai by birth, documentations and spirits. I have been studying in the US under the Royal Thai Scholarship Program with tax money from Thai farmers and the people of Thailand. I'm grateful with that.

I have chances to persue my education and to be exposed to a different culture in the US. I have seen many issues that we, the Thai, can learn and assimilate those good ways of thinking from the Americans.

OK, that's not related to what I would like to discuss about. Let's move on to the topic then.

We're a busy family. So we have to send our children to daycare in a daily basis. One day when I went to pick up my older son from his daycare, I evedropped two of parents talking about soccer (a.k.a football in Thailand). They talked about one of their players in the team was moving away to other city. So, in the coming weekend, their team would have one player less than it would be.

So, seeing this as a fine chance to bring my nerdy son to a physical sport, I asked one of the parents who was also one of my son's classmate. We had seen each other for a while. And, he said he would be happy to have my son in his team.... Almost forgotten, he was also a coach of the team.

In my city, it's classified as a medium-sized city with 150,000 populations. Well, not too big not too small, so we expected that we would see a tiny number of teams in that young age (4-5 years old).

Surprisingly, when we arrived at the field. There were many many people in the area. There was a traffic jam... children in soccer outfits, babies in strollers, parents in causal dresses, and senior people coming to cheer their grandchildren.

In this division (4-6 years old), boys and girls would play in the same team. There would be no separation between gender until 7 years of age.

So, there were 4 boys and 3 girls in my son's team... All of them looked very eager to play.

Coaches? There were 2; one, the head coach, was Hannah's dad, and another one, the assistant coach, was also one of my son's friend's dad.

Every team has its coaches.... All of them were volunteering parents.

In that time, American soccer teams were quite successful in the World Cup. Its male soccer team went to the final world cup. The female soccer team won the world champion.

My first impression about this was these might be the keys to success of the Americans in soccer; willingness of those youngsters to have fun with the sport, and, as equal as in the importance, coaching and coaches from the very beginning.

These are something that we don't have in our country. I cannot tell you the exact reasons... But I do know one thing from an American proverb; There is nothing better than a heart of the volunteers.

This might give you a clearer picture of what's in the American's heart and soul. This positive attitude can be seen in every corner of my city. Volunteering in coaching, volunteering in public services, and so on are one of those volunteering activities.

With this basic public sacrifice, it can gradually and strongly build a foundation of anything we can imagine....

The soccer World Cup Champion can be one of those... Who knows?

What do you think?

Best regards,
A.T. (2/27/06)

NOTE 1: Made a corrrection as suggested by Khun เอริ...จัง


Create Date : 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549
Last Update : 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 4:14:21 น. 14 comments
Counter : 740 Pageviews.

 
US players earn a lot of money, they can mention the "occupation" as "Football player". They can get more money as a presenter of goods, even they were in the state's team.

Thai players earn only salary from their company, thy should fill in the blank as "employee". If they aren't a Olympics winner, all they got shold be only the government preseter in anti-drugs, safe sex or safe driving campaign.

As Thai parent, actually in Thailand, what would you like your child to be?...

(Feel free to correct my mistake, would you please...)


โดย: dont wanna no วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:0:38:35 น.  

 
Dear amatuer translator,

I followed your thread requiring inputs from Pantip here. So, since I'm here, I'm gonna throw in my two cents. :)

Personally, I've never had a chance to go to any soccer games in the US, but I've heard quite a lot about it. Through Hollywood movies, commercials, and my experience when a former boss of mine refused to attend some meetings because they conflicted with her son's soccer games, I think it must be really important. Being present at your boys' soccer matches, or your girls' dance rehearsals signifies the interest level you're putting into parenthood/relationship.

One of the factors that enable American parents to join their children's activities, meanwhile, harboring their Thai counterparts to do so, is the difference in household income, cost of living, and lifestyles. Simply put, cost of living in Thailand takes up a much higher percentage of salary than that in the US. Also, a large number of Americans are working for corporations, which give them weekends off, while Thai people are more to workers, and small-business owners (think noodles stands). There are not many Thais who can afford the luxury of stop making money on weekends.

It'll be so lovely if, in the future, we become more proactive in our children's activities, and don't put too much pressure on teachers as we've been doing all along. At least that's what I hope to do for my children!



NOTE: Minor Grammatical Error: to be exposed to

I have chances to persue my education and be exposed to a different culture in the US.


โดย: เอริ...จัง IP: 24.63.175.159 วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:1:29:26 น.  

 
This is not about Soccer itself. This is about American cultures which believe in parent involvement in children activities.

My girl is a little bit older than your son so I totally understand your feeling. You will see it more when your son enters school. Most activities in school were managed by PTA including all sports trainings, talent show, academic competition, events, tutoring etc.



โดย: Piglet-Yorkie IP: 12.20.201.125 วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:2:14:59 น.  

 
In addition to my point, Sport is American past time. Therefore we will see more parents involvement since it is human nature to do things that they enjoyed. Baseball is the most popular children sport avtivity so far. Soccer is more popular for girls (I think it is ironic and totally contrast with Thai's)


โดย: Piglet-Yorkie (again) (Piglet-Yorkie ) วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:3:11:58 น.  

 
Khun AT,

What does "amatuer" mean?


โดย: CIT IP: 131.215.11.205 วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:3:32:31 น.  

 
Hi Khun CIT,

It's a wrong spelling... When I applied for Pantip membership, I spelled the word "amateur" INCORRECTLY.

So that has become my pen-name ever since.

55555

What does CIT mean anyway? Was it used to be "CIIT"?

A.T.


โดย: A.T. (amatuer translator ) วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:4:07:29 น.  

 
What is CIIT?

CIT is a small school with which I am currently affiliated.


โดย: CIT IP: 131.215.11.201 วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:7:28:03 น.  

 
CIIT was the most famous research center in my field. Last year, it changed its name from CIIT to CIT. So that's why I was wondering. :)


โดย: amatuer translator วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:8:20:13 น.  

 
Dear Khun Amateur Translator,

Thank you for inviting me to your bloggang, I have
been busy during the past few weeks with many
examination schedules to follow. There will be
many teaching loads (not include thesis supervision)
for me in 2006 with an overall of 300 lecturing
equivalent hours.

I read your article at the beginning about the sentence "scholarship money being supported by Thai farmers and Thai people". I used to mention
that to my supervisor as well, but he reminded me
that "it seems a bit unfair to stress out poor people
(well, the majority of Thai farmers are quite poor)
because rich people also pay tax too and that
might be even more than poor people". It is quite
perplexing when you think about it. The situation is
that many people who earn little do not have to pay
tax at all and it might be better and more correct
to just state that "the Royal Thai Scholarship Program with tax money from Thai people". I'm
sure that Thai tax payers would be more than
happy to see us doing works that are useful to
poor people.

The soccer activity in American is quite famous but
it could also be troublesome for parents who get too much involved. I heard the news that parents
literally fighting with each other over a soccer
game of their children. I understand that there is
just a minority group of people who do that.

One good movie about realism of future career in sportmanships for college students in the US is "Coach Carter" with Samuel L. Jackson plays the
leading role.

I think the differences between the two cultures
stemmed from the fact that it is not a custom for a
majority of Thais to express themselves in public.
An example can be easily seen in a funeral, it is not uncommon for relatives of the deceased to give
speeches about their beloved one in the American
culture. But in a traditional Thai funeral, this is not appear to be so.

They do have a number of volunteers activities in
Thailand, an obvious example is "The Princess Mother's Medical Volunteer Foundation". Many
Thai volunteers did turn up during Tsunami
aftermath at the Southern part of Thailand
last year.

Best,
Practical x 2


โดย: IP: 202.28.24.34 วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:17:48:57 น.  

 
Dear A. Amateur Translator,

Thank you for your input on the taxing with the
reference of NU paper. At least I'll be able to
quote direct & indirect tax when discussing about the purpose of scholarship students.

Poverty in Thailand is the main cause of other
problems in Thailand, thus in my view we should
focus our research aims in helping the poors
first.

Yours,
Practical x 2


โดย: Practical x 2 IP: 203.188.29.19 วันที่: 28 กุมภาพันธ์ 2549 เวลา:21:13:40 น.  

 
เห็นด้วยกับคุณ Piglet-Yorkie ที่ว่า
"...This is not about Soccer itself."
ว่าส่วนหนึ่งเพราะวัฒนธรรมเมกา เขาเน้นเรื่องเป็น a well rounded person
อย่างไทยเรียนเก่ง การกีฬาไม่เป็น ไม่เป็นไร
อย่างเมกาเรียนเก่ง การกีฬาไม่เป็น กลายเป็น nerd หรือ geek ไปซะ โดนbrand nameซะอีก

โดยทั่วไป ว่าสังคมที่นี่เน้นการเป็นคนมีความสามารถรอบด้าน ไม่ใช่พัฒนาเพียงด้านเดียว ที่เห็นง่ายๆคนที่เข้ามหาลัยเมืองไทย โดยทุนกีฬา (คือเป็นนักกีฬามา) ทุนอย่างนี้เมื่อ 15-20 ปีก่อนไม่มี เพราะสังคมไทยไม่ได้ให้หรือเห็นความสำคัญตรงนั้น

อีกอย่างว่าสถานที่ เครื่องไม้เครื่องมือ พลากรบุคคลที่นี่พร้อมกว่า อย่างอยู่กรุงเทพ เชื่อว่ามีพ่อแม่หลายคนก็คงอยากสนับสนุนส่งเสริมลูกทางกีฬา แต่บางทีแค่เรื่องรถติดอย่างเดียวก็หมดกำลังใจแล้ว บางทีกำลังใจมี แต่เวลาไม่มี เพราะเสียอยู่บนถนนหมด

ดูง่ายๆ อย่างตัวเองเล่นเทนนิสนะ เมืองที่อยู่ประชากรแสนต้นๆ แต่สนามเทนนิสสาธารณะมีให้เลือกถึงสามแห่ง นี่ไม่รวมสนามในมหาลัยที่เข้าไปเล่นได้อีกสองแห่ง (แต่ละแห่งมีคอร์ทร่วมสิบคอร์ท) นอกจากนั้นตามapartment complexes หรือ housing divisions ที่เพื่อนบางคนอยู่ ก็มีสนามเทนนิสให้ด้วย
เพราะฉะนั้น มัน*สะดวก*น่ะ
อยู่กรุงเทพ โชคดีที่ใกล้บ้านมีคอร์ทที่เดินไปถึง แต่นี่นับว่า'โชค'อย่างเดียว คนทั่วไป จะหาคอร์ททียากเย็น เข้าห้องเทนนิสในพันทิพ แป๊บๆเดี๋ยวก็มีคนถามแล้วว่าบ้านอยู่แถวนี้ มีคอร์ทให้เล่นที่ไหนบ้าง

ว่าปัจจัยอย่างอื่นยังมีอีกเยอะ แต่ก็ตามที่เห็นกับตาอย่างนี้


โดย: Overseas วันที่: 1 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:1:47:12 น.  

 
Mentioning.. "scholarship money being supported by Thai farmers and Thai people" is alright to me.. to remind yourself that we should not forget about the poor which a majority of the Thais.
.
School voluteer program is a big thing here in the US. I sent my son to soccer games as well. My school ( that I attened) keeps track of all alumni the best it can as well as asking for support. I donate small amount every year to do whatever they want in school and wish my schools in Thailand would do the same.


โดย: Isvasu IP: 71.114.100.41 วันที่: 1 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:12:26:01 น.  

 
เอาประเด็นเรื่อง volunteer แล้วกัน

เคยสังเกตไหมคะว่าคนที่ไปเป็นอาสาสมัครเหล่านี้เป็นใคร
จากหมู่บ้านที่เราอยู่เป็น private property ที่มีการตั้งกรรมการหมู่บ้านขึ้นมาเพื่อดูแลความสะอาด ความปลอดภัย และดูแลทรัพย์สินส่วนกลาง อาทิ ถนน ทางเท้า สระว่ายน้ำ สปอร์ทคลับ ซึ่งกรรมการเหล่านี้ก็เป็นอาสาสมัครจากลูกบ้านที่เป็นผู้เกษียณแล้วนะคะ จะเห็นคุณยายนั่งรถเข็นไฟฟ้าออกมาตรวจตราความสงบได้เป็นประจำ และทุกชั่วโมงจะมีอาสาสมัครขับรถวนรอบหมู่บ้านเพื่อดูว่ามีโจรผู้ร้าย คนแปลกหน้าผ่านมารึเปล่า

เคยได้คุยกับโรงเรียนสอนภาษาของ community college พบว่าอาจารย์ที่สอนล้วนเป็นอาสาสมัคร และเป็นผู้เกษียณอายุงานเช่นกัน

ดังนั้น จากที่เคยได้เจอแต่แวดวงผู้สูงอายุ เราเลยตั้งข้อสังเกตเอาเองว่าผู้ที่จะทำงานเป็นอาสาสมัครได้นั้น ต้องเป็นผู้มีความพร้อมในชีวิตในระดับหนึ่ง เห็นได้จากการที่คนทำงานอย่างบ้านเราไม่สามารถช่วยเค้าเป็นอาสาสมัครหมู่บ้านได้ และเชื่อว่าถ้าผู้คนยังลำบากในการหาเลี้ยงชีพ ก็คงยากในการหาคนเป็นอาสาสมัคร


โดย: IP: 70.247.99.14 วันที่: 1 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:13:28:44 น.  

 
หวัดดีค่ะคุณ AT อเมริกาเป็นประเทศที่บ้ากีฬามากๆค่ะ นักกีฬาอาชีพถึงร่ำรวยกันเป็นแถว คนก็อยากเล่น พ่อแม่ก็สนับสนุน มันก็เป็นวงจรไปเรื่อยๆไงคะ

เรื่อง volunteer ที่เห็นมีสองกลุ่มนะ กลุ่มแรกจะหนุ่มสาวหน่อย อยากทำตัวให้เป็นประโยชน์ เราเคยไปเป็นอาสาสมัครให้งานกีฬาคนพิการ ปรากฏว่าหาอะไรทำไม่ได้เลยอ่ะ เพราะอาสาสมัครเยอะกว่าคนมาแข่งอีก

อีกกลุ่มนึงก็พวกที่เกษียณแล้วไม่มีอะไรทำ มีเงินใช้ไม่ลำบากอะไรก็ออกมาเป็นอาสาสมัครซะดีกว่านั่งเบื่ออยู่บ้าน เราก็เป็นอาสาสมัครที่ the Library of Congress ค่ะ ไกด์ที่นี่เป็นรุ่นดึกที่เกษียณแล้วทั้งนั้นเลย


โดย: Rive Gauche วันที่: 2 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:7:54:25 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.