My Favorite Three Staub Cookware Pieces
I'm a big fan of cast iron cookware. I have several pieces that I bought over the years. In my research for the perfect Dutch oven I stumbled upon a renowned French manufacturer of cast iron cookware - Staub.

Staub cookware is made with enameled cast iron (except for certain pieces). Because of that, unlike bare cast iron, it doesn't discolor or rust, it's nonreactive to acidic foods, it doesn't require seasoning and it can be washed more thoroughly.

Staub is best known for their French/Dutch ovens (or Cocottes) but they make other pieces of cast iron pots and pans. I have tried several of their cookware pieces and here is my top 3 list:

1. The French (Dutch) oven or Cocotte: This French (or Dutch) oven is one of my all time favorites. I use to prepare my soups, stews, roasted meats, casseroles and even bread. This is a piece of cookware you will use very often. The great thing is that it has a black interior that is resistant to scratching. Furthermore because of the black color no staining or discoloration will occur (I just hate when that happens). It's really true that pot becomes non-stick the more you use. That's because the cooking oil seep into the pores of the pot seasoning the cooking surface. You can use it on a stove top or in the oven. The Cocotte has a special lid that ensures self basting.

In the end, I just have to mention the absolute beauty of this pot. The exterior has a nice, glossy ceramic finish with the most beautiful (and unusual) vibrant colors. When you see them you just wish you had them all! The Cocotte is made in oval and round shapes. The oval ones are ideal for fish and poultry. Any downside? Yes, the pot is a little bit heavy but since its made of cast iron (one of the most dense materials) I guess that's how it's supposed to be.

2. The American grill pan: I love grilled meat and this is a way to prepare it all year long without having to light up your barbecue. Mostly I make steaks and burgers in it. I just preheat the pan on high heat and then grill my meat. I get a perfect nice brown or black sear and a delicious rare and red interior. The pan's surface has high raised ridges that allow fat to drain off and leave some nice grill marks on your food. The pan has spouts on the sides so you can easily pour off the oil and the fat. The pan is square shaped and has a quite spacious cooking surface (12-by-12-inch) so you can grill meat for a small family. Again, like the Cocotte, this pan needs no seasoning and it becomes non-stick with time. Any downsides? The pan can be sometimes difficult to clean, but I pour some warm water in it soak it for 15-30 minutes and then wash it with mild soap.

3. The crepe pan: Before I bought this cast iron crepe pan I was making my pancakes in a non-stick pan. But I wasn't exactly delighted with the final especially after having tried the French crepes. I decided to buy the Staub cast iron crepe pan and I was finally able to make "real" pancakes. I preheat the pan on medium heat and then spread the batter with the wooden spreader (you get it with the pan). I wasn't familiar with this cooking technique in which you spread the batter by rotating the spreader in the pan (one end of the spreader stays in the center while the other end rotates around the pan). After few attempts I mastered it and now I'm a pro. Of course, the pancakes are delicious with this pan and I can't imagine going back to my old pan. Any downsides? It's a little bit heavy but it's a small price to pay for such delicious tasting pancakes.

Article Source: //EzineArticles.com/5724816
old mountain pre seasoned dutch oven with flanged lid no feet,true induction energy efficient single burner induction cooktop p3d,wmf vitalis compact 3 75 quart stovetop steamer for 2,staub 6 quart coq au vin cocotte basil,whirlpool gmh5205xvq over the range microwave,scanpan classic 6 5 quart covered dutch oven,staub 4 quart round cocotte,lg otr 1 8 cf 1100 watt microwave white,amana 1 5 cu ft over the range microwave amv1150vab black,world cuisine round enamel cast iron dutch oven 4 quart with lid blue,iittala sarpaneva cast iron casserole,pem31dmww%2d profile spacemaker ii%2dcountertop microwave oven %2d white,magic chef 1 1cf 1000w s steel microwave mcd1110st,telebrands orgreenic 10 piece set,wolfgang puck dual convection oven with rotisserie and baking drawer,cuisinart chefs classic enameled cast iron chicken fryers,hearthware 20321 nu wave pro digital black oven,staub 5 quart oval cocotte royal blue,1 4 cu ft 1100 watt countertop microwave black,panasonic nn cd989s 1 12 cubic feet 1100 watt convection inverter microwave full stainless steel interiorexterior,prago weston pro 2300 stainless steel vacuum sealer automatic ne touch operation,ge profile sca1001kss 30 1 4 cu ft over the range advantium microwave oven 900 watts 300 cfm,nuwave oven pro infrared oven with extender ring kit,le creuset enameled cast iron 8 by 11 34 inch rectangular roaster,ge jes0737dnww 0 7 cu ft countertop microwave oven white,lg lcsp1110st 1 1 cu ft counter top combo microwave and baking oven stainless steel,salter aw 1000 perfect temp 500 watt food warmer,delonghi ad1079b retro convection oven with rotisserie,le creuset enameled cast iron 15 12 quart oval french oven,staub 5 quart bouillabaisse pot,




Create Date : 16 กรกฎาคม 2555
Last Update : 16 กรกฎาคม 2555 20:01:42 น.
Counter : 966 Pageviews.

0 comments

Robert Kenny
Location :
  

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]
 ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
 Rss Feed
 Smember
 ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]



กรกฏาคม 2555

1
6
13
14
15
17
18
19
21
22
23
28
29
30
31
 
 
16 กรกฏาคม 2555
All Blog