How To Get Out Of A Slump
With all the pressure that we put ourselves under nowadays, it is my observation with clients that we very rarely allow ourselves to admit just how bad things are sometimes. We bravely soldier on, both men and women, wearing the masks of optimism for way too long. It is not common for us to show the world, even people closest to us, what is truly happening on the inside.

It's been a while since I dared to touch the subject of what happens when we have ONE OF THOSE DREADED days, where we just hit a wall, feel in a slump and cannot seem to shift our energy. Well as bouncy as you know I USUALLY am, I had one of those days last week, when my world was caving in. There was no obvious reason, but I just couldn't get a grip on my emotions. At all.

I was scheduled to do my "books" for provisional tax, so had no clients or appointments to consider for the day... a blessing of note it appears! I just woke up feeling really out of sorts, and nothing I did could shake it; none of my usual quick tricks worked for getting my groove back.

I poured myself more coffee, sat at my desk to try to do the work for my accountant and started... crying. Real sobbing! Body jolting, runny-nose forming sobbing. You know the type I mean! I managed to complete my tax with sodden and tear-stained pages. For hours on end I had endless deep sobs gushing out of me... I was so overwhelmed and bewildered!

So how does vaguely this help you today?

Well, usually I would have tried, tried some more, kicked a little, kicked a lot and used every tool and resource I know at my disposal to get going and back on track again. To STOP sobbing. But this time I just sat and sobbed my way through it. It worked. In a weird kind of way. By the end of the day I was really tired exhausted actually, but had done my required accounting work nevertheless. Emotionally I felt so drained I did not have the energy for one my usual "clearing" conversations to make sense of it all. Nothing.

Usually I go into " I must sort IT out NOW" mode as there is always so much to do each day... but this time I had no idea what IT was all about. I just had to sit and let it be. 36 hours later I was 100% clear again. What a journey though.

So my advice is this - sometimes the only way to get out of a slump is to stay in it for a while and give yourself a break. If you always have to be on top of everything and fix it a.s.a.p... maybe the next time just stay in the slump for a few hours. No guilt, no pressure. Wallowing can be good... just don't let it go on for overly extended periods.


Factory Reconditioned Bostitch Umiiifs 1 12 Inch To 2 Inch Pneumatic Flooring Stapler 2,Poweriser Jumping Stilt Classic 198 266 Lbs,Wilton 63199 1745 Tradesman Vise 2,Dewalt Dck280c2 20 Volt Max Li Ion 1 5 Ah Compact Drill And Impact Driver Combo Kit,Bella 60 Inch Bathroom Vanity Whitechocolate Includes A Chocolate Cabinet Soft Close Drawers A Marble Countertop And Two Ceramic Sinks 2,Hitachi Cs33et14 14 Inch 32cc 2 Stroke Gas Powered Top Handle Chain Saw Carb Compliant,Makita Rp1800 3 14 Hp Plunge Router 2,Insinkerator Evolution Excel 1 0 Hp Household Food Waste Disposer,Baxton Studio Arco Lamp Floor Resting Cube Marble Base 2,Milwaukee 4270 21 9 Amp Electromagnetic Drill Press Kit,Mortise Pal Precision Mortising Jig And Loose Tenon Joinery System 2,Frigidaire Fra123kt1 12000 Btu Window Mounted Slidercasement Room Air Conditioner,Solar Attic Fan With 25 Year Warranty 2,Templaco Bj 115 Deluxe Bore Master Kit W 1spur Bit,Dewalt Dc415kl 36 Volt Lithium Ion Cordless 4 12 Inch Cut Off Tool With Nano Technology 2,Whynter 14000 Btu Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner With Heater Arc 14sh,Kitchenaid Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal 2,Kohler K 691 Bn Vinnata Secondary Kitchen Sink Faucet Vibrant Brushed Nickel,Sta Rite Industries Shallow Well Jet Pump 34 Hp Fsndh 2,Husqvarna 450 18 Inch 50 2cc X Torq 2 Cycle Gas Powered Chain Saw With Smart Start Carb Compliant,Danby Ddw1899wp 8 Place Setting Portable Dishwasher White 2,Jet 220019 Rcb 16ndlx 58 Inch Capacity Manual Rebar Cutter And Bender,Frigidaire Fpcc3685ks Professional 36 Induction Hybrid Cooktop Stainless Steel 2,Duromax Elite Mx4500 4500 Watt 7 Hp Ohv 4 Cycle Gas Powered Portable Generator With Wheel Kit,Freedom Alert Ii Dect Freedomalert With 600 Foot Range 2,Lg Electronics Lrbp1031t 10 Cu Ft Cabinet Depth Refrigerator,Yard Man 31am63lf701 26 Inch 208cc Gas Powered Two Stage Self Propelled Snow Thrower With Electric Start 2,Whynter 12000 Btu Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner Frost White Arc 12sd,Dewalt Dck266l 18 Volt Lithium Ion Compact 2 Tool Kit 2




Create Date : 11 กรกฎาคม 2555
Last Update : 11 กรกฎาคม 2555 19:13:39 น.
Counter : 436 Pageviews.

0 comments

Robert Kenny
Location :
  

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]
 ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
 Rss Feed
 Smember
 ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]



กรกฏาคม 2555

1
6
13
14
15
17
18
19
21
22
23
28
29
30
31
 
 
All Blog