Group Blog
 
<<
มีนาคม 2548
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031 
 
1 มีนาคม 2548
 
All Blogs
 

Obsession !! Excitement !! Agitation !! you name it.






My two new obsessions



Dear Friends and random readers,

Okay, it’s just only a 10% quiz and I am not the type of students who always get stressed or psyched easily by the test or the exam and its results like most ace students do. This evening I left the classroom a bit sad and dejected grumbling with myself along the way to my office. I spent about 8-hours of Sunday evening and Monday morning to prepare for this quiz. I guess the score will likely be ugly (compared to my peers). It's such a waste of precious time. Nonetheless, I know I will always deal with this frustrated emotion in no time, as I am a very relaxed type (in academia, relaxation is analogous to laziness, I heard someone says).

If you divide students into two types A) Stress-driven, productive, well-disciplined person or B) easy-going, nonchalant, indifferent average student (unless you are smart). With little effort to analyze, I think I am tilted more toward B than A, which is not necessarily bad for my psychological health but it might affect the academic performance..to some extent.

Enough for complaining and self-deprecation…I will divert to talking about some smarter people. So my dear readers should find it more entertaining than hearing about a so so life of stupid student like me.

My friend, Tee, just came back from a week of academic journey at Yale with Prof.Townsend (our beloved benefactor as we are paid by money from his project- and he is an extremely nice person) who has gone to give a lecture series there and still remains in a little town of New Haven. Tee is so cool to have a chance to rub shoulders with several famed Yalie professors like Paul Schultz and the like-minded colleagues at Yale, chitchatting about this and that econ theories (Yale is a good school for theory and development, quite closer to Chicago-style than say MIT...as the renowned Cowles Foundation had moved from Chicago to Yale since 1955 )

I have a great respect for Tee’s academic rigor and his theoretical mindset of a great economist. Had he not been under condition of coming back to Thailand, I believe he would have been recruited as an assistant professor at some top department in USA for sure. Prof. Heckman (a great economist- one of our many professors with nobel tag) just gave him a memorabilia gift as Tee being his companion when he gave lecture in Thailand last month and I guess also in recognition for his extraordinary mind as well (he got A+ in Heckman’s class although officially we have only A as a highest grade).

Another news from Tee is that Townsend’s half Thai-American son got accepted to almost all top-ranked Econ schools as of now namely; MIT, Berkeley, Yale and yet to hear from Harvard and Stanford. I guess he will make a strike for all schools to which he applied…such a cool dude!!! (for his dad's sake, he didn’t apply to Chicago). It will be fun to watch this young man’s future, father & son economists (Prof.Townsend's father was also a professor at PENN) . In case you want to know about Heckman’s childen, his son is (was) studying Physics at MIT.

As for an underachieving student like your authur, no words from schools yet. I guess they will be out this week. But I am not so worried about it..Que sera sera ( as I am a perennial type B person). However, Prow has been totally consumed by anticipation and excitement obviously more than myself. Today she went down to check mailbox 2-3 times in the evening and has seemed to be agitated, and overly excited . She is a Type A person who is always early and well-prepared for everything, which is good in terms of work habit. I hope thing will turn out all right soon (like what fortune teller told, I am very superstitous-so I believe him) as I don't want Prow to be too much anxious and stressed out for too long.

Anticipatingly yours,

B.F.Pinkerton

P.S.1 I feel like having a bit trouble trying to construct a journalistic-type English. I reckon American school never teaches you how to be a good writer (as opposed to UK school).

P.S.2 feel free to comment in Thai like you always do. I just want to try to improve my writing skill using my blog as a platform in doing so. You won't believe that being in USA, in American school (okay, good one as well), your writing ability won't be improved that much if you don't write it often (problem of students in non-humanities majors I guess). It's the hard fact that I just learn.

P.S.3 As an empirical evidence from above statement, my writing score for TOEFL that I just took last year when I had been in USA for almost 2 years at a prestigious school is less than a score of myself as a Thammasat student who never set foot abroad 3 years ago. Do you believe that ? ...that is why I want to practise more ..not because I want to show-off or has something to do with my egotistic side, please understand na krub:)

P.S.4 My more psychotic pal from USNews webboard tried to call me today (as he found my website and phone number). He said he is really frustrated with the waiting and wants to call professor to ask the result but he fears that he will be looked like a pest, so he chose to call me instead :)

P.S.5 Today we have snow again!!




 

Create Date : 01 มีนาคม 2548
18 comments
Last Update : 1 มีนาคม 2548 13:46:28 น.
Counter : 1101 Pageviews.

 

ขอให้โชคดีกับผลสอบค่า!

เราก็เป็น type B เหมือนกัน หรืออาจจะ C หรือ D (ถ้ามี) ความคาดหวังสูง ความพยายามตำ แต่ทำใจได้เร็วเวลาผิดหวัง ฮ่าๆ

พยายามกันต่อไปเนอะ อย่าไปเปรียบเทียบกับคนเก่งๆที่ขยันมากๆเค้าเลย เราว่าไม่ต้องเก่งมากแบบสุดยอด แต่มีความสุขกับชีวิตในทุกๆวัน ดีกว่านะ

ปล เขียนดีค่า ชอบๆ บางที่ก็ฮาด้วย เก่งแล้วล่ะ :-)

 

โดย: yodmanud^ying IP: 81.154.23.78 1 มีนาคม 2548 10:36:37 น.  

 

สู้ๆครับ

que sera sera

เขียนดีจัง

 

โดย: ฮวด ฮงฮวย (ฮวด ฮงฮวย ) 1 มีนาคม 2548 11:46:44 น.  

 

ขอบคุณที่มาอ่านครับ (สงสัยขายไม่ค่อยดีแน่เลย งวดนี้) ตั้งหัวข้อให้หวือหวาดีกว่า อิอิ (นี่น่าเบื่อตั้งแต่หัวข้อแล้วนะ)

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 1 มีนาคม 2548 13:23:53 น.  

 

สู้ๆๆ :)

 

โดย: prncess 1 มีนาคม 2548 13:35:02 น.  

 

พยายามเข้านะครับ

 

โดย: Mint@da{-"-} 1 มีนาคม 2548 13:47:18 น.  

 

เขียนได้ดีครับ อันที่จริงผมคิดว่าผมเองประเภทType C ครับ 555 เป็นอะไรที่ไม่ใช่แบบAและไม่ใช่แบบB

หวังว่าคำตอบที่เฝ้ารอคงมาถึงในเร็วๆวันนะครับ

 

โดย: ปริเยศ (Pariyed ) 1 มีนาคม 2548 20:02:26 น.  

 

ขอบคุณครับทุกท่าน...เป็นไงครับ type C เป็นแบบเรื่อย ๆ มาเรียง ๆ หรือไง (เหมือนชื่อบล๊อก) ?

จริง ๆ สมัยก่อนผมก็เป็นคนเคยขยันนะ ตอนเด็ก ๆ ค่อนข้างใช้ได้ (ประมาณ ป.6-ม.3) กับขยันที่สุดอีกทีก็ตอนสอบเอ็นท์ (ทุกคนคงเป็นเหมือนกัน ใครขี้เกียจตอนสอบเอ็นคงแปลกแล้ว)

ขยันอีกทีก็ตอนสมัครสอบ TOEFL, GRE เมื่อสามปีก่อน ไม่ใช่อะไร ค่าสอบมันโคตรแพงเลย เลยต้องอ่านให้คุ้ม ไม่อยากสอบหลายรอบ (สอบทีเป็นหมื่น -_-=) หลังจากนั้นก็เริ่มเฉื่อยลง ๆ ฮาๆๆ

คุณยอดมนุษย์หญิงก็คงเหมือนกันมั้ง ฮาๆๆ เป็น crisis เดียวกัน..ไม่เอา ไม่อยากเป็นแล้ว..ฮาๆๆ

ปล.อยากหัวดี หัวเร็ว เหมือนชาวบ้านเขา ฮือๆ

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 1 มีนาคม 2548 21:56:41 น.  

 

แงๆ อยากหัวดี หัวเร็วเหมือนชาวบ้านเขา (ด้วยคน)

 

โดย: yodmanud^ying IP: 81.155.12.18 1 มีนาคม 2548 22:35:03 น.  

 

ยินดีด้วยค่า เก่งมากกกกกกกกกกกกกกก :-)

 

โดย: yodmanud^ying IP: 81.155.12.18 2 มีนาคม 2548 2:04:54 น.  

 

ขอกรี๊ดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดดด

ว่ะ ฮาๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆ

ดีใจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ..มัก ๆๆๆ

ต้องคิดถึงชิคาโก มากแน่เลยยยยยยยย

ขอบคุณเพื่อน ๆ ทุกคนที่ให้กำลังใจ..

ขอให้ ฮวด ฮงฮวย เข้าไปเดิน The Yard ได้ครับบบบบบบบบ

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton IP: 68.22.192.143 2 มีนาคม 2548 2:22:03 น.  

 

ยินดีด้วยครับบบบบบบ

ทั้งบีเอฟและพีพีเอ็นอาร์

อนาคตที่สดใสรอท่านอยู่ =D

สาธุๆๆๆๆๆ คุณบีเอฟ สมพรปากๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆๆ

 

โดย: ฮวด ฮงฮวย IP: 61.90.51.158 2 มีนาคม 2548 2:27:33 น.  

 

เดี๋ยวไปหาข้าวเที่ยงกินฉลองหน่อย อิอิ หิมะยังตกอยู่เลยเนี้ย ...อาจารย์บอกว่าถ้าไปอยู่นั่นแล้วจะคิดถึงความหนาวแน่เลย (แถมบอกอีกว่า ตอนนี้นะอากาศ sunny มากที่นั่น)

 

โดย: BF.Pinkerton IP: 68.22.192.143 2 มีนาคม 2548 2:32:37 น.  

 

ยินดีด้วยครับบบบบ

 

โดย: ทวย IP: 61.91.93.193 2 มีนาคม 2548 2:42:39 น.  

 

ดี ๆ แต่ยังไม่อยากอัพบล๊อกเลย การบ้านเยอะมาก...ไหนจะไฟนอลอีก แต่ก็ดีเราจะได้เลิก obsessed กับเวปสองอันข้างบนได้เสียที

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton IP: 68.22.192.143 2 มีนาคม 2548 5:30:07 น.  

 

ยินดี ด้วย !!!! เก่งมาก !!!! เลย

รวย ๆๆๆๆ แน่ ๆๆๆ

 

โดย: แบก IP: 203.150.217.113 2 มีนาคม 2548 9:14:32 น.  

 

ยินดีด้วยครับ ยา ปา ดา ปา ดู๊

 

โดย: ปริเยศ IP: 61.91.244.16 2 มีนาคม 2548 22:57:54 น.  

 

I will refrain myself from commenting on personality types as I do not care much about it.

But I feel a bit obliged to share some of my experience on getting trained in how to write a good technical article in an American school. With no experience in a UK school, I still think this entirely depends on the individual, particularly at the graduate level.

Practically, your professors cannot really force you to write if you hate writing. In that case, the biggest and perhaps most challenging piece of writing you will ever write is your thesis. On the other hand, I dare say that the opportunity for technical writing is ample. In grad school, if you are not too lazy, most likely you will get to write your own technical papers (to be published, of course, in journals), abstracts to many meetings as well as conferences, reports, grant proposals, and certainly your thesis or dissertation.

When students write a research article, many mentors will encourage the students to write the whole article and they will jsut edit it. Some professors may want to write their own article and have the students add in a few things--that's quite unfortunate for the students. But I would say these professors are the minority, at least in the U.S. scientific community.

Again, as many have heard before, practice makes perfect.

 

โดย: CIT IP: 131.215.11.190 10 มีนาคม 2548 3:13:45 น.  

 

thanks..CIT

 

โดย: B.F.Pinkerton 17 มีนาคม 2548 8:26:49 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


B.F.Pinkerton
Location :
Midway United States

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 3 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add B.F.Pinkerton's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.