Group Blog
 
<<
สิงหาคม 2555
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
 
7 สิงหาคม 2555
 
All Blogs
 

Miss World 2012 : Talent finalists talk about their performances

Talent finalists talk about their performances

07 August 2012

The talent final is looming large (8th August) and ahead of the show, we caught up with our 16 finalists to find out – in their own words  - a bit about their performances.

Vanessa Williams, Sierra Leone

My talent is singing, I enjoy doing it. I chose the song, I Surrender for my talent performance because it’s a very emotional song. The lyrics are so powerful and can easily melt anyone’s heart, even the strongest.

I felt comfortable performing the song and I was so into the song, enjoying myself and hopefully so will everyone else. I feel myself in the song, I feel natural.

Evgeniya Klishina, Kazakhstan

I am doing a dance of two contradicting beginnings - one of fragility and tenderness, and the other of force and aggression. This is reflected by my paradoxical character.

Maricely Gonzalez Pomares, Panama

Colors of the Wind reminds me of my childhood. When I was five years old my mother gave me a cassette with Disney songs and I wouldn’t stop singing - especially this song that shares such a beautiful message with the world.

Karoline Owen, Norway

My talent is singing, and the song I’m going to sing is Autumn Leaves in the style of Eva Cassidy. This song holds a lot of meaning for me because it was my inspiration to start singing.

Winnie Sin, Macau China

The music number of my talent performance is named The Lonely Tango. This music number means a lot to me because it is the music I performed my first-ever synchronised swimming competition when I was 13 years old.

Lonely Tango is something about hope and the future. I wish everyone would enjoy my performance, thank you!

Deanna Robins, Jamaica

I am performing modern and contemporary dance to Bob Marley’s Redemption Song. The dance is a reflection of the hardships overcome and the eventual deliverance felt by the Jamaican slaves as a result of their perseverance and subsequent freedom.

Fiorella Migliore, Paraguay

I will be playing the Paraguayan harp. The harp represents to me my country, Paraguay; and the song I wrote and am performing on it is named Vida (Life). It is a reminiscence on life itself, its essence – from the conception of the soul and the first heartbeats to the last ones.

Queneerich Rehman, Philippines

Beatboxing is a skill where a person uses their mouth and throat to produce different kinds of sounds – imitating certain beats and melodies.

The first time I heard Justin Timberlake beatbox in his music video, Rock Your Body in 2003, I was so amazed and thrilled to learn it. Finally, I recorded  it in my phone and listened to it over and over again until I learnt the basics. From then on, my beatboxing skills developed as I watched tutorials online, the rest was history.

Markysa O’Loughlin, St Kitts & Nevis

An energetic steel pan rendition of a calypso song called Viva St Kitts, by famed St Kitts calypsonian, King Ellie Matt.

The song means a lot to me because it’s my way of expressing my love for my twin-island paradise. It’s a very patriotic song with strong lyrics, here is the chorus:

St Kitts, I love you
Love you all the time
No matter where I go, no matter what I do
You’re always on my mind
I love St Kitts
You love St Kitts
Viva, St Kitts!

Iris Thomsen, Denmark

My piece is about going through a difficult period in life, feeling like a failure but getting through the pain and reaching the other side. It is a contemporary dance piece created through a collaboration between myself and Karina Hojgaard.

Mariana Notarangelo, Brazil

I will be singing and performing a song of Carmen Miranda’s – a queen of the radio in Brazil.

Bayarmaa Huselbaatar, Mongolia

The performance is about freedom. I saw a story on TV one day about a fashion model who fell on the runway and she was so embarrassed and too upset to carry on. In life, nothing is impossible and you should not be afraid of anything. There are a lot of hard times but you should never give up, keep moving forward and always be yourself.

Wenxia Yu, China PR

I will sing a song called Luhua (flower) in the talent show. The song is composed by Yin Qing and He Dongjin. It is selected from the famous musical, A Soldier’s Diary and is about a girl desperately waiting for her lover – a soldier – to come back so they can be together forever.

Anastasija Skibunova, Latvia

I am dedicating my dance with respect to the timeless memory of my favourite - and well-known - choreogrpaher. They taught me how to live life on the stage when dancing and are unfortunately not in this world anymore.

I achieved great success performing this dance at the Championship of Performing Arts in Hollywood. If at least something remains in your heart after my dance, it will be the most important thing for me.

My dance consists of three parts: gipsy, tango and Swan Lake remix music.

Stephanie Chang, Curacao

Flamenco dancing is originally from Spain. What I like about this dance is the passion that I can express.

This dance was specially choreographed or me by my flamenco teacher, Ana Illas. I have been dancing with her since I was nine years old. I also had the privilege of being taught by Cristobal Reyes – the uncle of Juaquin Cortez (a very famous flamenco dancer).

I have been dancing in various shows and it is a real pleasure to show my talent at the Miss World 2012 talent final.

Taiesa Lashley, US Virgin Islands

Music is a universal language - it is something that transcends age, race and nationalities and is a common thread throughout the world.

One of my favourite artists - Adele - has been able to move the world with her hit, Someone Like You. I am elated to be able to perform this song as a talent finalist. Being able to share my talent and enthusiam for music with the world is an amazing opportunity - one I will cherish forever!

We wish all the contestants the very best when they compete for the overall talent winner tomorrow! Check back here for all the details!




 

Create Date : 07 สิงหาคม 2555
0 comments
Last Update : 7 สิงหาคม 2555 22:14:42 น.
Counter : 1244 Pageviews.

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


ลูกโป่งลอยฟ้า_ชิงช้าสวรรค์
Location :


[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 63 คน [?]




New Comments
Friends' blogs
[Add ลูกโป่งลอยฟ้า_ชิงช้าสวรรค์'s blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.