E..S..F..S..Basic of life!!
<<
ตุลาคม 2551
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
13 ตุลาคม 2551

Falafel

Falafel, also known in Egypt and Sudan as ta'meya, is a fried ball or patty made from spiced fava beans and/or chickpeas. It is a popular form of fast food in the Middle East, where it is also served as a mezze (snack or tapas).

As a main dish, it is served as a sandwich, stuffed in pita bread with lettuce, tomatoes, and tahini. As an appetizer, it is served on a salad, or with hummus and tahini. Falafel is a favorite among vegetarians.


We always have Indian for dinner on Sunday and normally it's me who orders food by phone...But last weekend, I was too busy with my daughter to do the job, so I left it to my husband and honestly, I wasn't impressed when he told me that he ordered a greek salad served with hummus and falafel cuz it's nothing to do with Indian !! Anyway, it turned out to be surprisingly good...I never had falafel before, not even heard about it but it tasted so good when I had a first bite on it and consequently, I searched for more detail and a recipe for it and then decided to give it a try !


There are many falafel recipes on interent but I ended up mixing up with 2 recipes (here and here)..anyway, thanks my husband for making me find one more of my favorite food.:)


Here is my version..


Ingredients:

16 oz. canned chickpea, drained
1 small onion, chopped
3 large cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp (kosher) salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 1/2 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp sugar
sesame seeds
2 - 3 tbsp chopped coriander
1 tsp baking powder
3-4 tbsp plain flour + breadcrumb ( to make the falafel hold together when fried )

3 to 4 cups oil, for frying


Method:

1. Place the garlic and onion in the food processor and process it to get a watery paste. Add the drained chickpea and process until blended ( the texture is similar to mashed potato ), then transfer the mixture into a bowl.

2. Add all the remaining ingredients and mix well. Place the bowl in the fridge and let it rest for minimum of an hour. you can keep it in the fridge for up to two days.

3. Form the chickpea mixture into balls about the size of walnuts.
Heat the oil to 375 degrees in a deep pot or wok and fry 1 ball to test. If it falls apart, add a little flour. Then fry about 6 balls at once for a few minutes on each side, or until golden brown.



Photobucket







Photobucket







Photobucket







Photobucket








Photobucket








Photobucket








Photobucket








Photobucket















Create Date : 13 ตุลาคม 2551
Last Update : 14 ตุลาคม 2551 6:23:04 น. 6 comments
Counter : 1040 Pageviews.  

 
ตาชอบทานมากเลยคะคุณก้อย แต่ทำไม่เป็น ได้สูตรแล้ว เดี๋ยวว่างๆ จะมาส่งการบ้านนะคะ ได้เจิมคนแรกเลยวันนี้...


โดย: ตาผ้าไหมไทย IP: 72.204.69.201 วันที่: 13 ตุลาคม 2551 เวลา:20:56:42 น.  

 
น่าทานจังค่ะมีประโยชน์ด้วย โปรทีนสูง


โดย: petchawan IP: 125.25.115.169 วันที่: 13 ตุลาคม 2551 เวลา:21:01:38 น.  

 
ยังบ่เคยกินนะคะ......อยากชิมจัง


โดย: โปแป้ง (popang ) วันที่: 13 ตุลาคม 2551 เวลา:21:21:17 น.  

 
ไม่เคยทานค่ะคุณก้อย ของคุณก้อยน่าทานจังเลย เกดเคยเห็นสูตรในหนังสือหลายเล่ม ที่สำคัญ เจ้าถั่วชิกพีกระป๋อง เคยเห็นเค้าขายแวบ ๆ อยู่แต่จำไม่ได้แล้วว่าที่ไหน รู้สึกว่าช่วงนี้เป็นปลาทองจังเลยค่ะ ความจำสั้น


โดย: Pastel pied วันที่: 14 ตุลาคม 2551 เวลา:9:13:01 น.  

 
คิดถึงฟาลาเฟลจังค่า
เวลาไปซื้อเค้ากินก็เจออร่อยบ้างไม่อร่อยบ้าง
บางที่อมน้ำมันเยอะเลย

ไม่ยักรู้ว่าทำกินเองก็ได้ด้วยแฮะ

คุณก้อยท่าจะชอบอาหารเมดิเตอเรเนียนนะเนี่ย
หามาทำเยอะๆ นะคะ ชอบดูค่ะ ชอบกินด้วย แหะๆ


โดย: bangkok dream วันที่: 14 ตุลาคม 2551 เวลา:13:38:19 น.  

 
Thanks all for your visits..

I like falafel pretty much... I had a good impression when I had it for the first time and luckily, I've found such good recipes to try on !

Khun Kate, I've seen some products of waitrose brand sold at Tops Chidlom, not sure if they also have canned chickpea but you can look for it..I'm sure Villa has it on a shelf thou !

Khun Bkk Dream..in fact, I love eating all kinds of food..regardless of what cuisine it is ..555



โดย: pepsakoy วันที่: 14 ตุลาคม 2551 เวลา:16:08:35 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิกช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

pepsakoy
Location :
กรุงเทพฯ Hong Kong SAR

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 4 คน [?]




This blog is made for fun...do not expect to see anything serious.And if you can't accept the concept,please feel free to go away from my place!
[Add pepsakoy's blog to your web]