E..S..F..S..Basic of life!!
<<
สิงหาคม 2551
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31 
10 สิงหาคม 2551

Pastel de nata (Portuguese-style egg tart)


Pastel de Nata or Pastel de Belém is a small custard tart found throughout Portugal's pastry shops or cafés. It is believed that it was created before the 18th century by Catholic Sisters at the Jerónimos Monastery (Portuguese Mosteiro dos Jerónimos) of Belém, in Lisbon . Casa Pastéis de Belém in Lisbon was the first place outside the convent selling this creamy dessert, and there they're called Pastéis de Belém, after the name of the area.


I made the pastry base rather than using a commercial ready-to-use one...I ,though, was a bit disappointed with the result I've got...it's crispy but rather hard than flaky as I expected !..don't know what to blame between the recipe and my own skill baking !!..lol...


The custard filling is a different story though..even though I was not sure if I did it right as stated (not so clearly ) in the recipe but with the help ( or disturbance?? ) of my little girl...the taste and texture were satisfactory !




Photobucket







Photobucket







Photobucket







Photobucket







Photobucket






Photobucket




Create Date : 10 สิงหาคม 2551
Last Update : 10 สิงหาคม 2551 15:40:46 น. 14 comments
Counter : 1075 Pageviews.  

 
this is what I am looking for Daan Tart!!. Don't you have recipe for it??? Looks so good. so the filling is just custard recipe, isn't it?? wow! looks so nice!!


โดย: หลั่มหมั่นเหม่ง วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:16:53:29 น.  

 
Khun Lum..I do have the recipe in hand but I don't think it's good enough to be published ( especially the base part) ! If you insist,though, I can give it away to you... :)


โดย: pepsakoy วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:17:27:47 น.  

 
ว้าวๆๆ อยากหยิบจัง


โดย: บ้านหวานเย็น วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:18:06:37 น.  

 
ไม่บอกก็ไม่รู้เลยนะคะว่าตัวเปลือกมันไม่ค่อยเวิร์ค ดูจากรูปแล้วมันน่ากินมาก ๆ ค่ะพี่ก้อย...ทาร์ตไข่นี่ปราบเซียนจริง ๆ ค่ะ สูตรที่เค้าขายนี่คงจะเป็นความลับสวรรค์เลยนะเนี่ย


โดย: ก้อย (bake-aholic ) วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:18:13:55 น.  

 
hi...umm....I don't think I really need the recipe because I can even dream what does it taste like.

from Popang,
and the Pics are also fantastic ka.


โดย: POPANG (popang ) วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:19:54:34 น.  

 
ชอบทานมากถึงมากที่สุดค่ะ
ทานทีเป็นสิบชิ้น อิอิ

ดูไม่ออกเลยค่ะว่าแป้งมันไม่ค่อยเวิร์ค สวยน่ากินมากค่ะ
เวลาทำบัวไม่ค่อยนวดแป้งเอง ซื้อแป้งพัฟสำเร็จมาทำไส้ใส่เองทุกทีเลยค่ะ อิอิ


โดย: Tiny Bakery วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:20:58:51 น.  

 
Even egg tart is not my favourite, but this looks so yummy that I would like to give it a try.

I think I can imagine how the crust came out. Should be yummy combining with custard part (all imagination hahaha) This is why cooking is fun. Because you never know what you're gonna get


โดย: bangkok dream วันที่: 10 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:21:38:51 น.  

 
ชอบคัสตาร์ดแบบนี้มากกว่าทาร์ตไข่ทั่วไปอะค่ะพี่ก้อย แบบนี้ต้องอร่อยแน่ๆเลย กรี๊ดๆ


โดย: puppadoowab วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:1:30:20 น.  

 
Thanks for all visits and comments!

Khun Koy and Khun Bua... I also thought the same when I saw it once taken out of the oven.. and that's why I was disappointed after tasted ! And in this case, I think a ready-to-use puff pastry would be better..lol


โดย: pepsakoy (pepsakoy ) วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:5:57:43 น.  

 
ทานด้วยคนนะคะ น่าทานมาก ๆ เลย


โดย: Sweet Forever วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:11:36:15 น.  

 
Well, I am ears!!! throw me the recipe. I'm ready to catch!!


โดย: หลั่มหมั่นเหม่ง วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:13:29:07 น.  

 
Khun Lum..You got it ! Here the recipe is ..


155g plain flour
25g white vegetable shortening, chopped and softened
30g butter, chopped and softened
1 cup suagr ( I used about 3/4 cup)
2 cups milk
1/4cup cornflour
1 tbsp custard powder
4 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla essence


1. Sift the flour into a large bowl and add about 3/4 cup water to form a soft dough. Gather the dough into a ball, then roll out on baking paper to form a 24*30 cm rectangle. Spread the shortening over the surface. Roll up from the short edge to form a log.

2. Roll the dough out into a rectangle again and spread with the butter. Roll up again into a roll and slice into 12 even pieces. Working from the centre outward, use your fingertips to press each round out to a circle large enough to cover the base and side of 1/3 cup muffin holes. Press into the holes and refrigerate while preparing the filling.

3. Put the suger and 1/3cup water in a saucepan and stir over low heat until the sugar dissolves.

4. Stir a little of the milk with the cornflour and custard powder in a small bowl to form a smooth paste. Add to the pan with the remaining milk, yolks and vanilla. Stir over low heat until the mixture thickens. transfer to a bowl, cover and cool.

5. Preheat the oven to 220c. Divide the fillling among th pastry bases and bake for 25-30 minutes or until the custard is set and the tops have browned. Cool in the tins, then transfer to a wire rack.

That's what it said in a cookbook..


โดย: pepsakoy วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:18:41:19 น.  

 
Toh Jei!! (Did I use it right?? or it should be MM GOY SAI!!!!)


โดย: หลั่มหมั่นเหม่ง วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:18:50:33 น.  

 
Khun Lum...honestly, I have no idea what it is right to say ( although I've been here for more than 6 years!!)


โดย: pepsakoy วันที่: 11 สิงหาคม 2551 เวลา:18:57:01 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิกช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

pepsakoy
Location :
กรุงเทพฯ Hong Kong SAR

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 4 คน [?]




This blog is made for fun...do not expect to see anything serious.And if you can't accept the concept,please feel free to go away from my place!
[Add pepsakoy's blog to your web]