Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
<<
เมษายน 2549
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30 
 
8 เมษายน 2549
 
All Blogs
 

A Talent Show

I read a blog about a talent show in K. Piglet's blog very recently.... I wasn't aware that it would come to me this fast...

Few days ago when I picked my older son NB up from school, he told me, "Dad, I will be in a talent show this month!!"

Of course, as a parent, I was really glad hearing this.... To be honest, I was very excited about it--- imagining what he was going to show!! :)

So I excitedly asked him, "What're you going to show then?"

His reply was almost smashed me to the ground: He said, "Blurping, Dad... I will have a blurping show as my talent show."

I wasn't speaking a word until we reached home... Once we arrived I told my wife that NB was going to have a talent show....

So both of us had to spend a lot of time after dinner discussing with him what should be and what should not be as a talent show....

I think he did reluctantly agree with us.... Anyway we asked him to go back to school and talked to his teacher a bit about his idea.

At present, he seems to give up the "windy" idea already... and industriously practicing his piano for the upcoming talent show....

Myself?.......... a big relief, hurrrrrrrr.... :)

This is just a beginning of being himself on his perspectives, this may continue on and on until he becomes an adult... And having different ideas and disagreements will be more and more routine, don't you think?

Anyway parent-and-son relationship is too precious for us to spend our times with him to, you know, compromise between his world and our world.... :)

What a challenge to be a parent, right?




 

Create Date : 08 เมษายน 2549
4 comments
Last Update : 8 เมษายน 2549 3:07:59 น.
Counter : 435 Pageviews.

 

Khun A.T. Please delete the above comment. I wrote an incomplete question.

Here's the correct version:

Would could be more challenging than when you have to deal with your children entering middle school, or, perhaps a more critical period, high school?

I strongly believe that we must strike for a balance between allowing the kids the freedom to be themselves and intervening when a sensible or fine line might be crossed.

You must be a wonderful father, Khun A.T.!

 

โดย: piangdin 9 เมษายน 2549 15:01:35 น.  

 

I guess K. A.T. didn't know that once Cameron Diaz won the blurping championship in TV show. And, surprisingly, she is so proud of it!!!.

Among the river of different cultures, your son, in the middle of the stream, will tend to act as American, while you are still in Asian side of the bank. Doing something different will make your son become very popular though.

Anyway, as he is your son, not mine :-D, feel free to do so. I'm on your Asian side!!!

 

โดย: dont wanna no 10 เมษายน 2549 2:10:14 น.  

 

Well, I don't know about Ms. Diaz's talent show... But good to know!!

Umh, my son and I grew up in a different fashion. Anyway, as a dad, it has been an adventure seeing him growing in this way (American way mostly).

I learn from him everyday... I love most of them and, most important of all, I love him... So I can accept what or who is going to become.

In this critical period, I take my responsibility to provide him with chance and opportunity as much as I could afford (time and money).

I look forward to having a more and more challenging experiences when he grows up.... Life is so dynamic... Time can change him and me simultaneously.... Anyway love persists and prevails.

I knew that K. piangdin had a challenging chance during the critical period for his teenage child.... I'm now in a mid-30 of my life... Teenager life of myself was occupied and predominantly dominated by many friends. I was really lucky that my friends were good friends. They had never seduced me into bad ways nor bad attitudes.... I became myself as I am today, partly because of them... and I acknowledge and be appreciated that...

So, one moment in time, I would like to convey my experience to my young sons of how important of having good friends is... and, as important as the former one, how to eclectically choose friends.

 

โดย: A.T. (amatuer translator ) 10 เมษายน 2549 10:27:02 น.  

 

I just got a peaceful moment from my chaos life to read through all of my friends' blog.

Well, P' A.T. ka. I would feel the same way with you and your wife about his idea. In another hand I understand your son as well. The concept of talent show in American school is to show off something that you think it's cool. The children might not think about the after-match that they might be embarrassed about their acts.

As parents, it is your duty to guide them. Sometime they are not listen but I think they will understand when they are older.

 

โดย: Piglet IP: 12.20.201.250 2 มิถุนายน 2549 22:22:56 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.