Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
 
มีนาคม 2549
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
 
29 มีนาคม 2549
 
All Blogs
 
A Reading Race

"Reading is my thing," I told my son the day before while he was trying to bug me to play with him on a board game....

Surprisingly he asked me to play "a reading race".... Admittedly, I liked his idea and took his bold challenge....

The rule was simple....Starting from, "Ready, get set, and Go!!"

The race might take half an hour to one hour... He read his book... sometime just 3-4 chapters and I would have my pick also... Normally, I chose to read the National Geographic or Scientific American or Time--- That might be the simplest ones I could pick to suit my son though....

After the race was over... Each of us had to summarize what we learned from what we read and what we thought about the issue....

During the last two nights, NB read a children fiction book about American History... In short, the book was about an imaginary tree house where it could take people into the past... In the chapters, it took two children back in time to the period when George Washington was fighting against the British... He was trying to maneuver the American Army across the Delaware River which was considered to be a critical military point in the war.... According to this achievement, it led to American victory over the mighty British Army. Well, as you can see, I learned what I didn't know from my first-grade son....

What he learned from me? He learned about seisomology and anthropology. The first story was appeared in the April 2006 issue of National Geographic about how seismology was firstly developed and how seismologists studied earthquake and made their predictions. In the story, the author also discussed about international experiences (Japanese, in particular) and its preparations which, expectedly, should save lots of life.

The second story, even more interesting (published in the same magazine in March of 2006), was about how human race (Homo sapien or current human race) originally travelled out from Africa and ventured across the globe... What were traces that they'd left on their trails and adventures, and, how scientists tracked down their traces are the essence of the story....

One who has background in science might have known that we have "our own history" imprinted in our DNA.... So, that's a way that the scientist could exploit to investigate that what is "a relationship" between you and me or an inuit guy in the State of Alaska according to time. A story that tells what we actually are is always a good story, isn't it?

From my humble opinion, reading and learning are two major factors to an ability to seek a life-long education....Without any degree to be awarded, this may be far more important than a paper from Havard or my future PhD degree maybe.

Read to achieve!!


Create Date : 29 มีนาคม 2549
Last Update : 29 มีนาคม 2549 0:48:29 น. 5 comments
Counter : 319 Pageviews.

 
Very interesting!


โดย: Guest IP: 66.31.225.229 วันที่: 29 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:2:40:27 น.  

 
Very good way to spend time with your children.At this age, they will be able to absorb most of the concept. I like the way that you discuss about what you both learn from reading books.

In my daugther school, they create a "Read-A-Thon" project every year. Each child need to read book for at least 15 minutes every day. At the beginning of the month, teacher will send a "log sheet" for parents to log about how many minutes and how many books.the child read each day. At the end of the month, parents need to submit it back to teacher. Once a week in a class they will discuss about what is the new thing that they learnt from reading books. I think this is the excellent program to promote book reading.

After reading your story, I think it would be better if I also got invloved in this activity such as creating my own log sheet and discuss about what we read to each other. However my book list would be either in the "historic" or "entertaining" category

I think "Reading book" is one of American hobbies. One thing is book is easy to access. We borrow 20 books (including CDs, book on tape, or Video) each week from the library which I think we won't be able to do it in Bangkok.


โดย: Piglet-Yorkie IP: 12.20.201.125 วันที่: 29 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:22:24:58 น.  

 
While the childern in US have reading-race, the children in Thailand have on-line games...

This story supports the idea of evironmental effects the children...


โดย: dont wanna no วันที่: 29 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:22:34:29 น.  

 
nice idea!!!!!


โดย: เกือกซ่า IP: 58.136.103.216 วันที่: 30 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:1:45:47 น.  

 
A good way to spend time with your son. Way to go!


โดย: Rive Gauche วันที่: 30 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:6:55:06 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.