Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
<<
เมษายน 2549
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30 
 
14 เมษายน 2549
 
All Blogs
 

#10--- Matthew Sheppard

Who is Matthew (Matt) Sheppard?

Many of you may not know and not care about who he was. Some may even disrespect and curse him if they know about him, some may pay sincere sympathy and true condolence to him, some may praise him as a hero, and some may exploit him politically for their own interests.

The issue of "the third sex" is still controversial and still be in that way until the sun rises from the west.

As a straight man, I have chronological developing thoughts about them, the third sex;

--------------------------------------------------------------

When I was young, I didn't understand much about homosexuality.... As a straight male, that led me to an unreasonable fear--- you know being afraid that they might step into my manhood and my personal sexual orientation.

More and more I had seen my co-workers and friends who actually were homosexual and showed no such feared harassments... So those fears were gradually subsided and vanished....

After I arrived at the US, I watched a movie the Laramie project , and realized that unreasonable fear was actually existing even in a more liberal country.

Matt was a gay man. He was a student at University of Wyoming at Laramie. One night close to a Halloween night, he was dragged out from a bar, brutally beaten, bodily mutilated, hung on a fence in a windy night of Wyoming, rescued from the scene by a policeman, and eventually died from severe head injuries at a hospital after struggling for his life for several days in ICU.

His death has spurred civil right outcries among people with homosexuality throughout the US up to present.

As a scientist, I acquire more and more interest of how homosexual develops scientifically.... Is it just a sexual preference or a developmental, neurological misfire leading to this phenotype?

As a human being, we are the same in my humble opinion.
----------------------------------------------------------------




 

Create Date : 14 เมษายน 2549
7 comments
Last Update : 14 เมษายน 2549 21:00:53 น.
Counter : 561 Pageviews.

 

แอร๊ยยส์ ขอบอกว่าอ่านกระทู้ของคุณมานานแล้ว แต่ไม่ค่อยได้ออกความเห็น มาเห็นกระทู้นี้ขอออกความเห็นหน่อยเถอะครับ

ดีแล้วละครับที่คุณมีความคิดอย่างที่คุณกล่าวมาในประโยคสุดท้าย ผมก็คิดเหมือนกัน และอยากจะบอกว่าเรื่อง homosexuality นั้นมักจะมีเรื่องให้เถึยงกันมากมาย ปัจจุบันการค้นคว้าวิจัยเกี่ยวกับปัจจัยทางชีวภาพหรือพันธุกรรมเกียวกับ homosexuality ก็เริ่มมีมากขึ้นพอสมควร ว่าง ๆ เชิญให้เข้าไปดูเว็ป //gboard.xq28.net บ้างนะครับถ้ามีเวลา เพราะบางทีสมาชิกที่บอร์ดนั้นเขาก็จะถกกันเกี่ยวกับประเด็น homosexuality กับวิทยาศาสตร์อยู่เนือง ๆ

 

โดย: Valence IP: 72.37.135.13 15 เมษายน 2549 6:09:51 น.  

 

Thanks for stopping by and your invitation to the mentioned url.

There is one theory about homosexuality that I would like to share with you though;

During developmental processes in utero (in your mother's womb), neurons need to migrate from one place in the brain to another place of the brain at the exact time period to achieve being true male or true female. Failure of this migratory processes may lead to aberrent sexual preferences in adulthood.

In that migratory path, there is "a special highway" guiding where those cells should go. However, when the highway is disrupted, the cells could not go to their desire destinations. This may lead to a failure to attain his/her true gender and sexual preferences.

One result showed that the numbers of neurons in gay men wasn't different from straight men. But , in may men, the location of one area of the brain had less cell density and numbers less than those of normal men.

However, it's not clear what causes disruption of the "highway" and migratory processes.

Just my two cents krub....

 

โดย: amatuer translator 15 เมษายน 2549 10:50:13 น.  

 

ขอบคุณครับคุณ ที่มาแชร์ทฤษฏีกัน

จริง ๆ ก็มีหลายรายงานนะครับ เกี่ยวกับลักษณะทางชีวภาพ (ที่โดยมากเกี่ยวข้องกับลักษณะทางชีวภาพในสมอง) ที่บ่งบอกถึงความแตกต่างระหว่างเกย์กับคนที่ไม่ใช่เกย์ (ขออนุญาตใช้คำว่า คนที่ไม่ใช่เกย์ แทนคำว่า ผู้ชายปกติ หรือ normal men เพราะถ้าใช้แบบนั้น ก็จะกลายเป็นว่าเกย์ คือคนที่ไม่ปกติไปซะ ซึ่งจริง ๆ แล้ว ก็ต้องมาดูกันใหม่ว่า อะไรคือปกติ อะไรคือไม่ปกติ เพราะคนที่เป็นเกย์ก็ดำรงชีวิตทั่ว ๆ ไปเหมือนคนที่ไม่เป็นเกย์ มีหน้าที่การงาน ความรับผิดชอบต่อครอบครัว ต่อสังคมเหมือน ๆ กันกับคนที่ไม่ใช่เกย์ ที่ต่างกันก็คงเป็นแค่ความรู้สึกทางเพศที่มีกับสมาชิกในสังคมที่เป็นเพศเดียวกันสำหรับคนที่เป็นเกย์และเลสเบี้ยน (พูดถึงในภาพรวมนะครับ)และใครเป็นคนนิยามเช่นนั้น)

เอาไว้ถ้าเห็นผลงานวิจัยใหม่ ๆ ออกมาจะนำมาแชร์นะครับ แล้วจาก GBoard อย่างที่บอก ก็เคยมีการอภิปรายกันมาบ้างแล้วครับ อย่างเช่น (ล่าสุดก็ดูเหมือนจะเป็นเรื่องของ homosexuality กับ X inactivation ครับ)

//xq28.net/s/viewtopic.php?p=111151&highlight=#111151

//xq28.net/s/viewtopic.php?p=91052&highlight=#91052

และยังมีหนังสืออีกเล่มหนึ่งนะครับ ชื่อ Queer Science; The Use and Abuse of Research into Homosexuality, MIT Press 1996 ประพันธ์โดย Simon Levay ซึ่งหนังสือเล่มนี้เป็นคล้าย ๆ รีวิวที่เขียนขึ้นโดยใช้ภาษาที่เข้าใจง่าย (lay language) และยังมีเอกสารอ้างอิงอีกมาด้วยนะครับ พอดีเพื่อนที่ทำงานพูดถึงครับ ผมยังไม่ได้อ่านหรอก เอาไว้ถ้าได้่อ่่านแล้วจะมาแสดงความเห็นเพิ่มนะครับผม

 

โดย: Valence IP: 72.37.135.13 15 เมษายน 2549 12:41:43 น.  

 

Gay is not abnormality, nowaday "gay" is wildly excepted as "taste". It should not be the topic of interest anymore. But the difference will make things significantly distinguish. Someone may like it, while someone may not.

Every single human has the right to express him/herself, properly. I've never knew Mr.Matthew Sheppard before, but his death is the shepherd for straight's social through the illumination of bias. Homosexual-haters turned their back and reconsidered what's to believe. His life dedicate for the better living for all male homosexuals.

How many people died to make the us learned about human right?

 

โดย: dont wanna no 15 เมษายน 2549 23:30:04 น.  

 

ขอร่วมเติมความเห็นเพิ่มเติมนะครับ

ดีจังมีคนมาตอบเพิ่มเรื่อย ๆ ขอตั้งข้อสังเกตนิดหนึ่งว่า บางคนกล่าวว่า คนที่เป็นเกย์ หรือคนที่ไม่เป็นเกย์นั้น มีรสนิยมต่างกัน คำว่ารสนิยมนั้นหมายความว่าอย่างไรอ่ะครับ คำว่า รสนิยม หรือ taste นั้นบ่งบอกถึงความ "ชอบสิ่งหนึ่งมากกว่าสิ่งหนึ่ง" หรือเปล่า เพราะหลายครั้งเราก็ได้ยินว่า คนนั้น ดีนะ รสนิยมดี แต่คนนั้นสิเธอ รสนิยมใช้ไม่ได้เลย และการใช้คำว่า รสนิยม นั้นบ่งถึงทางเลือกหรือเปล่า

ถ้ารสนิยมนั้นหมายความได้อย่างที่ว่ามา ผมคิดว่า รสนิยมไม่น่าจะนำมาใช้กับคนที่เป็นเกย์เลสเบี้ยนได้ เพราะนิยามนั้นไม่ครอบคลุม เกย์เลสเบี้ยนหลายคนไม่ได้ชอบสิ่งหนึ่ง (คนเพศเดียวกัน) มากกว่าอีกสิ่งหนึ่ง (คนเพศตรงข้าม) หลายคนไม่สามารถมีความรู้สึกหรือจินตนาการไปยังเพศตรงข้ามได้เลยใน sexual context และหลายคนจะตอบพร้อม ๆ กันว่า การเป็นเกย์เลสเบี้ยน ไม่ใช่ทางเลือก ไม่ใช่ choice มันเป็นตัวของเขาเอง ซึ่งนั่นก็แน่นอนย่อมนำมาซึ่งข้อถกเถียงของหลายคนกันต่อไปว่า การเป็นเกย์เลสเบี้ยนนั้น มันครอบคลุมด้วยปัจจัยทางชีวภาพ หรือปัจจัยทางสิ่งแวดล้อมกันแน่ (อนุมานได้ว่าพฤติกรรมเช่นนี้ก็อาจจะได้รับการเปลี่ยนแปลงได้ ถ้าอยู่ในสิ่งแวดล้อมที่ต่างออกไป)

อยากจะเสริมอีกนิดด้วยกับเกี่ยวกับ Matthew Shepard และสิทธิมนุษยชน ว่าจริง ๆ การเสียชีวิตของ Shepard นั้นไม่ใช่จุดชนวนของการตื่นตัวทางด้านสิทธิมนุษยชนของเกย์และเลสเบี้ยน โดยเฉพาะอย่างยิ่งในสหรัฐ เพราะการเคลื่อนไหวตัวทางด้านนี้ได้เริ่มขึ้นมาตั้งแต่ประมาณปี 1960s แล้ว เคยได้ยินไหมครับเกี่ยวกับ Stonewall Riots ที่มหานครนิวยอร์กในปี 1969 นั่นแหละครับ หลายคนถือว่าเป็น modern day civil right movement for gays and lesbians

แต่การเสียชีวิตของ Shepard นั้น เป็นตัวอย่างหนึ่ง (ในหลาย ๆ ตัวอย่าง) ของอาชญากรรมที่เกิดขึ้นโดยมีปมเกี่ยวกับ homophobia อยู่ด้วย และก็เป็นอุธาหรณ์ เครื่องเตือนใจสำหรับหลาย ๆ คนในสังคมที่มีความแตกต่างกันอย่างมากมายในปัจจุบันนี้ว่า ที่เกิดจากความอคติ โง่เขลา และเกลียดชังของคนบางกลุ่มนั้นมีอยู่จริงในสังคม เป็นเรื่องจริงที่น่าเศร้า ไม่ใช่นิยายที่แต่งขึ้นมา

 

โดย: Valence IP: 72.37.135.13 16 เมษายน 2549 6:50:34 น.  

 

A recent hate crime I heard of took place in Mass. Personally, I don't believe that discrimination can be totally wiped out--it can only be, to use K. AT's word, "subsidied." So, the death of Matthew Sheppard is not a surprise; it's just an example of how hatred can be turned into violence.

Homosexuality--nature or nurture? Well, I would say both. But what's the point of arguing? So that we can try to prevent it from happening in the future with our highly developed genetic technology? So that we can advance our understanding of this "occurence"? What's next, then, once we learn of the "culprit"?

Anyway, to Matthew Sheppard, RIP.

 

โดย: เมื่อลมแรง...ใบไม้ก็ร่วง 29 พฤษภาคม 2549 4:35:39 น.  

 

มาลงชื่อว่ามาอ่านแล้วค่ะ

 

โดย: @บะหมี่เกี๊ยวหมูแดง@ IP: 82.45.219.32 2 สิงหาคม 2550 17:39:18 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.