Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
<<
มิถุนายน 2549
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
 
3 มิถุนายน 2549
 
All Blogs
 
#14--- Education In My Point Of View

I'm not a true educator by training, thus I cannot give you its exact word-by-word definition of the word education. Anyway from my previous experiences I have gradually collected some aspects of it and collectively build a definition of it by my own.

Education is an "internal treasure". However some may value its like ordinary merchandise such as fashionable clothes. Those may "envisage" education as Tommy Hilfiger or Gucci... Hoping that they would look better with those clothes.

I think otherwise... Some may consider my thoughts about this issue as a miserable sour-graped individual... You may, I'm OK with that...

Personally, I believe that being educated by doing research is a fine way to truly train an individual... To be successful in this, thinking processes must be clear, questions (or hypothesis) must be relevant, approach to answer the questions (methodology) must be appropriate, interpretations upon the obtained results must be justified and conclusions must be prudent.

One by one, the student would have gone through those forementioned long processes.... Ones whose have integrity and perseverance would be eventually make it.. These processes are universal, they are not limited to buildings, schools, institutions or universities.

These are my philosophy about how to seek "internal treasure" though:

-----------------------------------------------------------
Dear everyone,

This is my personal thought about education...

I'd worked in a Thai university for some years before I selectively chose and committed what I would like to do for the rest of my academic career.

On this entire planet, there are only TWO places (one in the US and one in Japan) offering PhD in the field that I would like to... So I applied to the one in the US...

The university I chose isn't in Top-10 American Universities... I didn't take this seriously... I just do what I would like to do... I don't do it because the society would like me to do.

I realize that this particular field will have benefit to myself, my university, my country and academic communities in general... So I don't pay a dime for Harvard or prestigious, haunted buildings in any other universities....

Personally, education is about "internal treasure" and I decline to be enslaved by what people would like to see....

I have my own "gut feeling" to do and pursue my goals in my life.... and I hope that the Kratoo's owner would have it too...

Sincerely,
A.T.

P.S. Once again I concur with Mr. Free Radical about being constructive... Well-taken again, my friend!! :)
-----------------------------------------------------------

I have another perspective upon accepting graduate students.

One day I will be a university professor, I would not like to waste my time with any applicants with shaky, volatile, unclear objectives/goals.

I think I could "extract" their willingness and attitudes upon their education out when I sit and talk to them.

Graduate study is about independent study krub, I would not like to "babysit and change diapers" for anyone at this age. :)

Strength, stamina, determination, perseverance and wit must converge into those students.... and that would be the most valuable asset for any organization they will be working with... and these guys could lead our country to a territory where we have never been there before.

If you have these characteristics, you are far more preferable than your diploma imprinted on Harvard's or Ivy League Schools' paper krub.

I truly apologize if these comments might have offended you.... Just my sincere comments though...

Cheers,
A.T.
-----------------------------------------------------------


Create Date : 03 มิถุนายน 2549
Last Update : 4 มิถุนายน 2549 20:22:02 น. 2 comments
Counter : 461 Pageviews.

 
สวัสดียามเย็นค่ะ


โดย: pp_kard วันที่: 3 มิถุนายน 2549 เวลา:18:37:41 น.  

 
ยังไงก้อเก่งมากเลยค้าบ


โดย: jess IP: 202.41.187.247 วันที่: 5 มิถุนายน 2549 เวลา:13:08:47 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.