Group Blog
 
 
กันยายน 2551
 
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 
 
3 กันยายน 2551
 
All Blogs
 
Number Idioms : one idioms (เยอะมากกก)



all-in-one

- combined, all the necessary features of something in one unit
*Many DVD players have a recording and playing function all-in-one.




all in one breath

- spoken rapidly while one is very excited
*I told my friend about the accident all in one breath.




all in one piece

- safely, without damage
*The piano arrived at its destination all in one piece.




all rolled up in one

- combined in one person or thing
*The man is president and vice-president all rolled up in one.




as busy as a one-armed paperhanger

- very busy
*I was as busy as a one-armed paperhanger during the last two weeks.




as one

- as if a group were one person
*The crowd stood as one and began to cheer during the game.




at one time

- at a time in the past
*At one time the man had no money but now he is very rich.




at one with (someone)

- to share the same view as others, to be in agreement with others
*The members of the committee are at one with me over my decision to cancel the meeting.




back to square one

- back to where one started
*We were forced to go back to square one in our efforts to change the name of the company.




do (someone) one better

- to do something superior to what someone else has done
*I decided to do my friend one better and volunteer for three weeks rather than two weeks.




(I/you/he) for one

- as one example, even if the only one
*I for one do not believe that our boss will change the company policy related to new staff.




for one thing

- for one reason (among others)
*"It is not possible to use the old building. For one thing it will not pass a fire inspection."




have one too many

- have too much alcohol to drink
*The man had one too many so his friends would not let him drive home.




hole in one


- a golf ball that is hit into the hole with only one shot
*The golfer got a hole in one during his first round of golf.




hundred and one

- very many
*I can think of a hundred and one reasons why the new employee is not capable of doing his job.




hundred to one chance/shot

- a small chance that is not likely to bring success
*My friend only has a hundred to one shot at getting the job that he has applied for.




in one ear and out the other

- ignored, not listened to or not heard
*The teacher told the students about their homework but it went in one ear and out the other.




in one fell swoop

- in one incident, as one event
*In one fell swoop my friend got a new car, a new job and a new girlfriend.




kill two birds with one stone

- to achieve two aims with one effort or action
*If I take the course now I may be able to kill two birds with one stone and receive credit for it in the future as well.




look after number one

- to only look after or think about oneself
*My neighbor only looks after number one and he will not help me at all.




million and one

- very many
*There were a million and one things to do at the festival.





not one iota


- not even a tiny bit
"I do not like him - not one iota."




on the one hand

- from one point of view or opinion
*On the one hand I do not want to go to the conference but on the other hand I really must go.




one after another

- one thing or person follows another
*The customers came one after another to look at the new computer operating system.




one and all

- everyone
*One and all were invited to the party.




one and only

- the only person or thing, unique
*Our university has the one and only medical imaging system in the country.




one and the same

- exactly the same
*Doing my job at home or at the company is one and the same to me and to my company.




one at a time

- individually
*The children went to the front of the classroom one at a time.




one by one

- individually, one at a time
*The children entered the school building one by one.




one for the (record) books

- a record-breaking act
*The athlete's performance in the race was one for the record books.




one for the road

- one last drink (usually of alcohol) before one leaves for home
*We decided to stay at the party and have one for the road before taking a taxi home.





one good turn deserves another


- if someone helps you then you should help them in return
*One good turn deserves another so I was happy to help my friend move after he had helped me.




one heck/hell of a (someone or something)

- the emphasis that someone or something is very good or very bad
*The man is one heck of a runner and he has won many races.




one in a hundred

- one among one hundred of something
*About one in a hundred of the products are defective.




one in a million

- unique, one of a very few
*Our coach is one in a million. He is fantastic.




one in a thousand

- one out of one thousand
*The chance of getting the job is about one in a thousand.




one jump/step ahead of (someone or something)

- one step in advance of someone or something
*My boss is always one jump ahead of the rest of the employees.





One man's meat is another man's poison.

- something that one person likes may not be liked by another person
*One man's meat is another man's poison and everybody dislikes the food that my friend likes.




a one-night stand

- an activity that lasts only one night
*The rock band played several one-night stands last month.




One person's trash is another person's treasure.


- something that one person considers of no value may be considered valuable by somebody else
*One person's trash is another person's treasure and my friend likes to look at my old things before I put them in the garbage.




one of the boys

- an accepted member of a group
*Our boss tries to be one of the boys but actually nobody likes him.




one of these days

- soon, before long, someday
*One of these days they plan to open a new movie theater but we have already been waiting many years.




one of those days

- a bad day where many things go wrong
*It was one of those days and from early morning things went wrong.




one of those things

- something is unfortunate but it must be accepted
*My aunt's sudden illness is one of those things and there is nothing we can do about it.




one or two

- a few, a small number
*There were only one or two people at the meeting so it was postponed until later.




one sandwich short of a picnic

- not very smart
*The janitor is one sandwich short of a picnic and he makes many mistakes.




the one that got away

- a fish that you did not catch, an opportunity that you missed
*My father said that he has caught many fish but the biggest one was the one that got away.




one thing leads to another

- doing one thing or one event will set the stage for something else
*One thing led to another and suddenly it was too late to catch the bus home.




one to a customer

- each person can receive only one of something
*The items were sold at only one to a customer.




one up on (someone)

- to have an advantage over someone
*I am one up on my friend because he is still looking for a job while I have already found one.




one way or another

- somehow
*One way or another I will phone my friend this evening.




quick one

- a single drink of alcohol taken before one does something else
*We stopped for a quick one on the way home from work.




take care of number one

- to only think about or take care of oneself
*The man takes care of number one and never thinks about anyone else.




number one

- oneself
*My friend only thinks about number one and never about anybody else.




ten to one

- very likely
*I think that ten to one our secretary will come to work late again today.




there is more than one way to skin a cat

- there is more than one way to do something
*There is more than one way to skin a cat and my friend and I decided to solve the problem in two different ways.




thousand and one

- very many
*I can think of a thousand and one reasons why I do not want to travel with my friend.




two heads are better than one

- two people working together can achieve better results than one person working alone
*Two heads are better than one when you are trying to solve a difficult problem.


Create Date : 03 กันยายน 2551
Last Update : 3 กันยายน 2551 11:33:01 น. 0 comments
Counter : 77 Pageviews.

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

lovehate
Location :
นครปฐม Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add lovehate's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.