Group Blog
 
 
กันยายน 2551
 
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 
 
3 กันยายน 2551
 
All Blogs
 

Number idiom : two idioms




two Idioms


cut two ways


- to be capable of having two opposite effects, to produce advantages and disadvantages
*My decision to complain to our boss could cut two ways and cause him to be happy or angry with me.




have two strikes against (someone)

- to have a number of things that are working against you and where success becomes more difficult (in baseball you are finished batting after three strikes)
*The man already had two strikes against him when he went to apply for the job.




in two minds about (something)

- to be undecided about something
*My niece is in two minds about whether or not she will visit me this summer.




in two shakes of a lamb's tail

- very quickly
*"Wait one minute. I will help you in two shakes of a lamb's tail."




it takes two to tango

- if a problem or an argument involve two people then both people are responsible for the problem
*It takes two to tango and my friend should not blame me for all of our problems.




kill two birds with one stone

- to achieve two aims with one effort or action
*If I take the course now I may be able to kill two birds with one stone and receive credit for it in the future as well.




know a trick or two

- to know a special way to deal with a problem
*My father knows a trick or two about making model boats.




lesser of the two

- the smaller of two things, the one with the least amount
*I ordered the food and when the two plates arrived I took the lesser of the two.




lesser of two evils

- the less bad thing of two bad things
*I did not want to take the job but it was the lesser of two evils because having no job was even worse.




like two peas in a pod

- very close or intimate, very similar
*The two girls are like two peas in a pod and are very good friends.




no two ways about (something)

- no alternative, certain
*The manager said that there are no two ways about it and the worker must improve or he will be fired.




not give two hoots about (someone or something)

- to not care at all about someone or something
*I do not give two hoots if my friend comes to visit me or not.




one or two

- a few, a small number
*There were only one or two people at the meeting so it was postponed until later.





put in one's two cent's (worth)


- to add one's comments to a discussion
*I decided not to put in my two cents worth to the discussion about money.




put two and two together

- to make a correct guess, to figure something out from the information that you have
*We were able to put two and two together and discover who was sending the unwanted messages.




stand on one's own two feet

- to be independent and self-sufficient
*The boy learned early how to stand on his own two feet.




tell (someone) a thing or two (about something)

- to scold someone, to become angry at someone
*I plan to tell my neighbor a thing or two about his dog when I see him.




That makes two of us.

- The same thing is true for me.
"I do not want to go to the meeting."
"That makes two of us," I replied.




two bricks shy of a load

- to be not very smart or clever
*The man is two bricks shy of a load and he is very hard to deal with.




two can play that game

- you can treat another person in the same way as they have treated you
*The man told his boss that two can play that game and if the boss was too strict then he would be inflexible as well.




two heads are better than one

- two people working together can achieve better results than one person working alone
*Two heads are better than one when you are trying to solve a difficult problem.




two of a kind

- people or things that are of the same type or are similar in character/attitude etc.
*The boys are two of a kind and they love to spend time together.





two-time (someone)


- to cheat on one's partner by seeing someone else
*The couple separated when the man began to two-time his wife.




two wrongs don't make a right

- you cannot justify doing something wrong or bad just because someone else did the same thing to you
*Two wrongs don't make a right and if someone does something bad you should not try and hurt them as well.




two's company, three's a crowd

- two people (usually a couple on a date) are happier when nobody else is around
*My friend wanted to come with my girlfriend and I but I told him that two's company and three's a crowd so he stayed home.




 

Create Date : 03 กันยายน 2551
0 comments
Last Update : 7 กันยายน 2551 16:36:02 น.
Counter : 74 Pageviews.

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


lovehate
Location :
นครปฐม Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add lovehate's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.