Take Wings
Group Blog
 
<<
มีนาคม 2550
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
 
29 มีนาคม 2550
 
All Blogs
 

Work and jobs

Work and jobs

A job is the thing that you are paid to do. It is a countable noun.
I got a job in a bank when I finished college.

Work is the activity of having a job, being paid, etc. It is an uncountable noun.
A lot of people come to London to find work.

If you work for a person or company, you are an employee. Your company is your
employer. The company employs you. If you work for yourself and do not have an
employer, you are self-employed. If you work for different companies when they
need you, you are a freelance worker.

Asking about someone’s job

What do you do?
I’m a nurse.

What (sort of) work do you do?
I work for a car company as a manager.

What do you do fora living?
I work at/in the supermarket.

(formal)What’s your occupation?
I’m a teacher.


Types of job

I’ve got a part-time job two days a week. (The opposite of part-time is full-time. A
part-time job can be for a few hours every day or for less than five days in every week.)

I’ve got a temporary job at the garage until April. (The opposite of temporary is
permanent.)

Casual work is a job that you only do sometimes and it is usually not on the same
days each week:
I do a bit of casual work as a receptionist.


Leaving a job

The words we use depend on the reason for someone leaving a job:

• A person might choose to leave:
‘Are you still working for Kett & Smith?’ ‘No, I left there months ago.’
I was so angry at the way my boss treated me I resigned/quit.

• An employer might not be able to continue to employ them:
120 people lost their jobs/were laid off/were made redundantwhen the
factory closed.

• If a person is dismissed, fired or sacked, they leave their job because their
employer is not happy with their work or their behaviour.


Not having a job and looking for a job

I haven’t got a job at present.
I’m unemployed/out of work at the moment.
I’m looking for work.
I applied for a job with Saunders and they’ve invited me to an interview.
When a company needs someone to do a job
The new factory will bring over 500 jobs to the area.
For information about current vacancies, contact our Personnel department centre.




 

Create Date : 29 มีนาคม 2550
3 comments
Last Update : 29 มีนาคม 2550 0:12:53 น.
Counter : 547 Pageviews.

 

โอโห เก่งจังค่ะ Many thx ka.

 

โดย: เอสเจ~* 29 มีนาคม 2550 1:15:51 น.  

 

เยี่ยมจริงๆ เลยล่ะคุณ
แจ่มมากๆ

 

โดย: อุ้มสี 29 มีนาคม 2550 21:44:35 น.  

 

ดีมากๆค่ะ เอามาเสนออีกเยอะๆๆนะค่ะ

 

โดย: บี IP: 125.26.124.96 22 กรกฎาคม 2550 18:57:03 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


Plaze
Location :
Melbourne Australia

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]







Emo น้องลิง
Emo น้องเพนกวิน
X
X
Friends' blogs
[Add Plaze's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.