You'll will never walk alone,Rafa
Group Blog
 
 
พฤษภาคม 2552
 
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31 
 
30 พฤษภาคม 2552
 
All Blogs
 

Rafa blogs on 29/05/09.

ราฟาบล๊อกและตอบคำถามแฟน ๆ ประจำวันที่ 29/05/09 จาก timesonline ค่ะ

I am starting to get back to my best at Roland Garros

Hi everyone,

Short one today since I got pretty late to the hotel to do this blog tonight. I was supposed to come back from the site pretty fast after the match and all the media conference and interviews but stayed there doing some work with my physio Rafa Maymo. In the end I got back around 8.30 pm and by the time we went out for dinner it was 10 pm. The time simply goes very fast (in all senses) so here I am at almost 1 am writing this blog.

We went to one of my favourite restaurants here in Paris and had one of the best Tuna steaks I have ever eaten. Really good. We were 10 people tonight so what it looked like a late dinner with only a few turned into a typically Spanish late dinner with 10 people around a table. It was good that it was that late otherwise I am sure we would have not found place to eat almost anywhere.

I normally don't eat that late, maximum to go out is 9.30 pm which is late for most of you, right? By the way, I remember an interview I did earlier in Rome this year and when a journalist asked me about the things that get me upset and I said jokingly that my uncle Toni wants me to go earlier for dinner so I can come back to the hotel earlier to get more rest. Today Toni was with us and he didn't complain much for going so late . In the end there are not that many things that get me upset... and that was reported every where....

Regarding my match, I really felt great today on court. As I said in the past days, the slow start that I had was nothing new. I always had these kind of starts here and now with the first 3 matches played I am feeling more comfortable playing.

Thanks.

Rafa

Ask Rafa: dealing with scary plane journeys and tuna sandwiches

Questions from The Times


Were you surprised at how comfortably you beat Lleyton Hewitt today?
RN: I think I played a very solid match and played very comfortable. I am really finding my best tennis.

Do you feel you are beginning to get back to your best after today's win?
RN: I have been practicing really well since I got here but when it got to the matches I have been not that consistent playing well. I think today, specially in the third set, I really found my best tennis back. I hope it stays and continues.

Robin Soderling, the No 23 seed, is next up, what do you know about him?
RN: He is a dangerous player and in Rome we played a very good match,. The result was not as easy as it looks.

Who of your rivals has impressed you most this week so far?
RN: I think that it is too early to pay attention to this. The tournament is long and there are still days to go that could change many things.

Questions from the fans

What was your most disappointing moment on the tennis court?
Javidan Karkaria
RN: When you lose something that you feel you could have won.

Since you are on the road all the time, how many suitcases of clothes do you have to lug around? Amy, Houston, Texas
RN: I travel with a lot of stuff to be honest with you. Sometimes too much and I have to pay many times overweight... It is not only clothes but also other things such as computer, DVDs, play station, etc.

What is the one piece of advice you would give to youngsters who want to take up tennis as a professional? Shani, Cheshire
RN: To have fun, and to have fun. This is the most important thing. Then to practice hard and believe on what they are doing.

You like playing tennis on clay, but do you also like making things with clay (i.e., pottery?). Have you ever used a potter's wheel? Paul, London
RN: No, not really. Never tried.

Is there any difference in the way you approach a five-set match from the way you approach a three-set match? Do you eat differently, or pace yourself differently? Patricia, New York
RN: Absolutely. There is a big difference since both physically and mentally the match is very different.

What is your favourite sandwich filling? Julie Westbrook-Finch
RN: Tuna, but I am not a big sandwich eater.

You looked pretty shocked when a cat ran across the court in Doha this year. Do you have any pets? Judith Bell
RN: No, I don't.

Have you ever been on a scary airplane ride? Amanda, United States
RN: Yeah, sure , sometimes. Lot of bounces but I have been told that there is no real danger on that. It is very safe to travel by plane.




 

Create Date : 30 พฤษภาคม 2552
1 comments
Last Update : 15 มิถุนายน 2552 17:54:27 น.
Counter : 909 Pageviews.

 

บล๊อกราฟาวันที่ 30 May 09 ค่ะ

Catch the cheats but let us have our privacy too

Hi Everyone,

I am writing this blog today with a lot of will to talk about my press conference yesterday. It was all questions about the Anti-doping controls in tennis. But I am not going to talk much about this yet since I think it would be quite a long post. I am going to leave it for tomorrow in the case I win and that I will have more time to write about it.

In any case, some people tell me that I should not be talking about these things. I know it might not be politically correct and that it doesn't benefit me in any way. Why? Because some people might think I don't want to have controls or whatever. Wrong. That is COMPLETELY wrong. I am in favour of a clean sport and to have controls to catch the cheaters in case there are any (I believe tennis is a very clean sport). But I do ask for a bit of respect with our privacy and the right that we have under the law to have that bit of privacy. As I say maybe I will explain all this tomorrow and I will say, once again, what I think, because I am convinced about it.

So, today I simply had a normal easy practice day. Nothing really special. Well yes, I did have some time in the afternoon to have a little walk in Paris and even went shopping for something I needed. I don't say what it was so that you have some more questions to ask for tomorrow :-)

Many thanks

Rafa

บล๊อกสุดท้ายของราฟาจากมายอก้าวันที่ 1 June 09 ค่ะ

I lost but it's not a tragedy

Hello everyone and I suppose you understand the reason for not sending the blog post yesterday... Not because I didn't feel like doing it, I am not like that. I simply I didn't have time for it. After the match was over, and after spending some time with my team in the locker room, I had to do all the work at the tournament and went back to the hotel to pack my bags quickly.

My flight was leaving at 10 pm and with the anti-doping control, the press Conference, the TV and radio inteviews and the travel back to the hotel it got really late. We managed to leave the hotel just in time to get on the plane at arrive past midnight in Mallorca. We send a message to the people here and advised them I would do it today.

The first thing I want to say is that it was only a tennis match yesteday. No big drama. It happens, and I knew it would happen one day. It had to be yesterday and well, now I just have to look at that match and see what I did wrong.

It is not a tragedy since as I say it had to happen one day. It is something I have to live with and that's it. I played really bad, very short, not agressive enough (or not at all) with out any calm and on top of that he played well... I simply did not play my tennis. Clearly it was not the best day of my life and I am not happy, but there is nothing I can do. It is hard to lose at a Grand Slam tournament, I know, but I must have confidence to keep working and fighting again.

One thing is also clear now to the public and that I have always said it: Every match is important, every round is difficult and anything can happen.

Yesterday was the proof. When I am asked about the final, about the semifinals and who is on my side of the draw... you see? I am not liying when I say that every match and every round is important. Tennis is a very difficult sport since you can go home on any bad day, and I had that bad day yesterday. I felt good at the warm up, believe me, but never felt good during the match.

So what I am going to do now is rest in Mallorca, at home, with my family and friends and analyze with Toni what happened yesterday. I will travel to London on Saturday or Sunday to defend my title at the Queen's Club and prepare for Wimbledon the following week. Everything normal.

Thanks to all for your support. I know I have a lot of fans there in the UK and around the world and I am truly thankful for that. I know the messages that I have received are sincere and honest.

Rafa

Questions for Rafa: dealing with defeat and the curse of the pink shirt

Question from The Times

Rafa, whatever you tried today did not seem to work and even your famous fighting qualities failed to turn the match around. How were you feeling during the match, and what do you feel were the reasons for your shock defeat?

RN: Thanks, I think I did fight but as I always said, fighting is not enough. I didn't play well and Soderling played well. That was the key and the difference.

How do you react to a defeat like this - do you try to dissect exactly what went wrong, or do you try and forget about it as quickly as possible?

RN: No drama, it's only a tennis match. I always said when I won that it was only tennis match and that one day I would lose. It happened yesterday and here I am today. No problem. I will have to analyse what happened at the match and try to improve as I always say. I am only 22 (23 on Wednesday) and still young.


Robin Soderling's tactics when you met at Wimbledon last year upset you a little. Is there still any animosity between you or has that all been forgotten?

RN: I don't pay too much attention to those things.

Rafa: we know you love the pink shirt, but that you are also very superstitious. Do you think you will ever wear it again?

RN: I am not superstitious and I change the colour of the shirts every few tournaments. That has nothing to do with the defeat. Following those lines I should have lost the first match?

Questions from the fans

How do you feel when you receive a warning or a penalty point against you for taking time between points? Luisa Mandato

RN: I know that sometimes I can play slow. If I get that warning I will try to play a bit fasters, meaning in between points.

Did you ever consider playing doubles with Roger Federer? Tjasa

RN: Yes I did and asked him as well but he had other commitments with other colleagues to play when I asked. Hopefully one day, I am sure it will be fun.

Ok, the pink shirt is growing on me. So I have to ask...what's next? We know Wimbledon will be all white, but what do you have up your sleeve for the summer? Sharon Roberts

RN: It wouldn't be a surprise if I tell you, right?

Since you started playing tennis what is the longest period of time that you have done no physical training and played no tennis at all, and did you put on any weight during that time? Adeisha, Jamaica.

RN: No, not really.

Since you probably will not be playing a match on your birthday but the day before (hopefully), have you any plans to do anything special to celebrate or will you stick to your normal routine? Louise

RN: Well, now that I am back in Mallorca and will not celebrate my birthday in Paris as in the past years, I wil definitely spend time with my family and celebrate with them and my friends at night.

How in the world did the man who was just named the “most fit” manage to fail PE? Cheryl Travelstead

RN: It's a long story... but it was not because I was not fit... One day I'll tell you the story... :-)



 

โดย: som_jerry 4 มิถุนายน 2552 20:31:57 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


som_jerry
Location :
กรุงเทพฯ Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




สวัสดีค่ะ !!! มีหลายคนชอบถามว่าทำไมต้อง som_jerry ??? Jerry มาจากการ์ตูนเรื่อง Tom&Jerry ค่ะ ส้มชอบหนู Jerry มาตั้งแต่เด็กแล้ว ( จนบัดนี้ก็ยังดูอยู่ 55555 ) เลยเอามาตั้งชื่อค่ะ ^_^

I love Rafa, my blog and VB.

ข่าวและภาพทั้งหมดเครดิตจาก vamosbrigade และ RN ค่ะ :)
Friends' blogs
[Add som_jerry's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.