Group Blog
 
 
กรกฏาคม 2553
 
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
 
10 กรกฏาคม 2553
 
All Blogs
 
:: When the past tense does not express the past time ::


- : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : -



When we talk about something that happened in the past, we use the past tense. However, there are also times when we use the past tense to express something else. Smiley


a). To express a wish    Smiley
A wish is not something that happened in the past, but we need to use the past tense.
e.g.
I wish I had a car. (I do not have a car.)
He wishes he won the lottery.


In the above sentences, the past tense has nothing to do with the past time.


 


b). In the sentence pattern “It’s time …” Smiley
When “It’s time” followed by a clause, the past tense is used in the clause.


e.g.
It’s time we left.
It’s time we took design seriously.
It’s time you sold your old car.


Here we are not talking about what happened in the past. If I say “It’s time you sold your old car.” to you, you still have your car, and you are driving it.


 


c). To show politeness  Smiley
Sometimes we use the past tense because we want to be polite. The past tense is more polite than the present tense.


e.g.
I wonder if you can come to dinner tonight.
I wondered if you could come to dinner tonight.
I was wondering if you could come to dinner tonight.


If you are inviting a friend, you use the first sentence. If you are inviting your boss, you probably will use the second or the third sentence. The third, the past progressive tense, is even more polite than the second.


 


d) In the “if” clause  Smiley


We use the past tense in the “if” clause, if something is not a fact, or it’s unlikely to happen.


e.g.
If it rained tomorrow, I would not come. (I think it will rain tomorrow.)
If I got a raise, I would throw a party. (I don’t believe I will get a raise.)


When we use the simple present tense, it means that we believe it will happen.


e.g.
If it rains tomorrow, I will not come. (I don’t think it will rain tomorrow.)
If I get a raise, I will throw a party. (I think I will get a raise.)


Generally speaking, the past tense is used to express the past time, but there are special uses of the past tense. We need to pay attention to these special uses in learning English.


- Ron Lee -




- : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : - : -



Create Date : 10 กรกฎาคม 2553
Last Update : 10 กรกฎาคม 2553 21:00:19 น. 0 comments
Counter : 950 Pageviews.

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

นิรมาณ
Location :
นครพนม Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]









อันชีวิตคนเราช่างสั้นนัก
ต้องรู้จักทำประโยชน์ก่อนจะสาย
ทิ้งไว้เป็นอนุสรณ์หลังความตาย
มีความหมายคงอยู่ ตลอดไป


อันนินทากาเลเหมือนเทน้ำ
ไม่ชอกช้ำเหมือนเอามีดมากรีดหิน
แม้นองค์พระปฏิมายังราคิน
คนเดินดินหรือจะสิ้นคนนินทา








"..ที่ใดมีรักที่นั่นมีทุกข์.."
"..จงมีตนเป็นเกาะ จงมีตนเป็นที่พึ่ง.."
"..จงมีธรรมเป็นเกาะ จงมีธรรมเป็นที่พึ่ง.."


++++++++++
น้องกิ๊กลิง
น้องเพนกี้
น้องลิงกี้
X
X
X
Friends' blogs
[Add นิรมาณ's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.