พฤษภาคม 2554

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
15
16
19
20
21
23
24
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
LLM Programs in the US: are they really commercial?
Today's blog might be super boring but I really wanna share what I have found which is obviously different from what people think and say.



Today of the last 4 months, I was in a period of applying to law schools in the US. People usually say that when applying to law schools in the US, the most important thing to submit to them is the financial statement. They will definitely grant admission if they are certain that you are capable of paying their tuition fee. Without the financial statement, they tend to reject you. Due to the tardiness of the government's issue of a financial statement for me, I applied to 6 law schools without enclosing my financial statement document.

(FYI: I won a scholarship from a ministry of Thailand when I finished my high school and such scholarship requires that I study Patent Law. My sponsor, under the scholarship agreement, is obliged to provide me all kinds of expenses varying from my tuition fee, books, transportations, medical plans, to my monthly allowances and etc, and I am required to come back and work for the government after I have graduated.)

After a while, all 6 law schools sent me their decision and I got admitted to all of them. It took me and my sponsor very long time to come up with a decision, "where I should be going."
My sponsor actually wanted me to go to a law school with a lower rank in IP Law but having a Doctor's Degree program for me to pursue while I wanted to go to a law school with a top-five rank in IP Law.

My sponsor finally said okay to my decision as its purpose is to make me study patent law anyway.

I, thus, had to file my response to those 5 schools that I cannot be joining, reasoning my decision that my sponsor's purpose is to have me specialize in patent law.

A day after my response was sent to those 5 schools, two schools of those five emailed me, saying that they are very sorry to hear that I could not join their law school family. They added that due to my academic achievements, "THEY ARE WILLING TO GRANT ME A FULL SCHOLARSHIP WHICH COVERS THE ENTIRE TUITION FEE TOGETHER WITH A FINANCIAL SUPPORT ON MY OTHER EXPENSES LIKE INSURANCE PLAN, BOOKS, TRANSPORTATIONS, CLOTHES, AND MONTHLY ALLOWANCES."

It obviously proves what people say is wrong. Not all of them care about money. They do want their school to be teemed with promising students. No matter what such student's monetary status is, they are willing to have such student join their family.

I thus wanna tell those who are currently thinking about applying to a master of law program of American law schools but do not have enough budget. Please do not worry. As long as you can prove to them your ability and promising success. They are willing to have you at their school and they will definitely help you through all difficulties.

(I, however, still have not changed my mind, or to be more precise, cannot change my mind as I have entered into a lease agreement of a rental contract of 12 months. And the school I decided to join is a very good school for Patent Law.)



Create Date : 18 พฤษภาคม 2554
Last Update : 18 พฤษภาคม 2554 1:28:31 น.
Counter : 320 Pageviews.

6 comments
  
I'm glad to know that the American's school love to choose students from their performances rather than their money.

Honestly, I've a bad opinion about studying in 'some' of UK and US school. My friends was admitted to the universities in the UK and I've found that they got acceptance from those universities before the program received their TOEFL or IELTS.

but for the american schools, after i've read this entry, i've found that even you don't have a very good financial statement but you can be offered by the school where it sees your capabilities and grants you a scholarship!
โดย: super-bobah วันที่: 18 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:2:19:41 น.
  
พี่โจโจ้ พี่เป็นคนพิดโลกหรอคะ
โดย: windsylph วันที่: 19 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:22:32:08 น.
  
thank you for info, it will be useful to me in 3-4 years time lol.
Anyway make the best out of it, our country need a great academic especially in this field to help and improve our nation :D
โดย: Rainy in the blue sky วันที่: 22 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:22:28:24 น.
  
lemme kno if i can be of any help regarding your plan of further study ;) It'll be my pleasure ;))))))
โดย: Mojo-Joey วันที่: 23 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:5:15:27 น.
  
โดย: thip056 วันที่: 23 มกราคม 2555 เวลา:21:40:19 น.
ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
 *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 

Mojo-Joey
Location :
  United States

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]
 ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
 Rss Feed
 Smember
 ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]



Im just an unpredictable gal with super high ambition.