พฤษภาคม 2554

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
15
16
19
20
21
23
24
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
14 พฤษภาคม 2554
Pathetic or not?
OMFG!!!! Havent logged on to my blog for,like,ever, I never realized that updating a blog would require some technical skill. (Or it's cuz im such a big low-tech dork *chuckle*)

Anyway, thats surely not my purpose of updating this twisted blog.

The thing is, for the last 2 hours, i, in my pink bedroom at my home in the country, have been listening to my mom who kept talking about my brother to whom my mom usu refers as an "oily rolling stone."

"If your grandpa were still alive, he would def'nitly think that your bro is gay," she said and further added,"when I was at his age, your bro was 8 years old already."

Anyway, she kept talking bout how disadvantageous it would be to start a family at the age of over 30, and and how big the generation gap between my bro and his child would be.

"Dying as an old bachelor is such an unwise decision," she finally fired her 'thesis statement.'(LOL)
"But not as unwise as an old maid," she spat her venom-like words and threw her piercing eyes at me.

"Anyway," she finally resumed speakin, "are you seeing anyone?"

"Emmm, well, nah," I replied.

And so she fired back to me, "Golf is a nice guy; he's a promising doctor with a good family background. He's as well-off as we, if not richer. Moreover, he's also good-looking. Why dont you like him?"

Well, the "Golf" she talked about is my high school friend whose parents are good friends of my family's. He's currently a doctor of a promising career future.

"I kno that you prioritize your study over other things else but fab things dont visit you often. You should grab them when you can or you'll be just a boring old maid," my mom eventually killed me with her hurting caring words.

"Just for your info: 100% Thai guys suck just like the jap and the chinese ones cuz they are flirty and sex-obsessed. Moreover, they usually presume that they are superior to us. The Australian or American born asian are fine but their ego is so high that they will never move back to Thailand with you when you have graduated. So I guess you are smart enough to figure out who suits you the best," my mom stated before leaving for her bed.

Well, Im actually quite used to being asked when I'll have a bf or when I'll get married; it's prolly what every chinese daughter has to face when her age is reaching out for 25.
SO,
what I actually wonder is,
is being an old maid really pathetic?



Create Date : 14 พฤษภาคม 2554
Last Update : 14 พฤษภาคม 2554 4:55:12 น.
Counter : 455 Pageviews.

5 comments
  
อย่ากังวลไปเลย...ดิฉันก็ประสบสถานการณ์นี้เช่นกัน แต่ต่างกันตรงที่ว่า ของโบไม่มีเป็นตัวเป็นตนขนาดนั้น

ขำประโยคนี้อ่ะ she finally fired her 'thesis statement.' <
โดย: super-bobah วันที่: 15 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:0:42:47 น.
  
Your pofile picture tells me that you're not alone, so you shouldn't have worried about being an old pathetic maid.

However, I know that words your mom said, could hurt you somehow. It's good that you felt that way coz it means you care of your mom. Caring of parents is the way that good daughters are.

cheers!!!!
โดย: is_ninja วันที่: 15 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:11:41:07 น.
  
lol, I follow u from ninja's blog.
Anyway, I think the present world and your mom world is totally different. In the present world, it more firendly toward the single people comparing to your mom time. It not unusual that u got this sort of question (my dad is one of them but lucky he like to see me study).
โดย: Rainy in the blue sky วันที่: 16 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:11:50:37 น.
  
Well, all my friends from high school got married and half of them are now divorced with kids to take care of. So my mom never bother me with that issue at all.

Getting married is not the only answer of my life. I wish you could explain this to your mom someday.

โดย: ดวงลดา วันที่: 16 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:20:06:00 น.
  
Well, thank you all for your kind and inspiring words ;)

Re Khun Ninja's comment, well, it is a picture taken ages ago ka..and my best friend (the one with the glasses) is now committed with her bf T___T. And regarding my mom's words, they do hurt but her sincere care surpasses em and I, instead of being hurt by em, appreciate them. Well, she never means to hurt me....so...I'll never feel bad towards her words ;))))))))

Re Khun Rain's comment, my mom is a Chinese old woman who grew up in China. Her point of view has been framed by her strict and conservative Chinese family. I guess thats why she views old maids as pathetic people. But she means no harms and no offences towards other old maids--she was specifically referring to me ka. Well, I cannot change her but I can choose what to do to make her happy, and I think I will definitely do it for her when the right time has approached ;)

Re Khun Duang La Da's (did I pronounce your name correctly?) comment: Well, as I told Khun Rain, my mom is a strict and conservative Chinese woman....I dont think she will get the idea why staying single and dying alone is a better choice of living my life ka. However, since my study stuff has forced me to spend the next 4-5 years to get my 2nd master and ph.d done, so I guess she wont insist me on dating until I have graduated ka.
Yet, frankly, well, its prolly the way I have been brought up, I am quite sure that if such time approaches, I'll do anything to make her happy if I can as she's one of very few people who truly love me.
โดย: Jojoe (Mojo-Joey ) วันที่: 17 พฤษภาคม 2554 เวลา:2:13:51 น.
ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
 *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 

Mojo-Joey
Location :
  United States

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]
 ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
 Rss Feed
 Smember
 ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]



Im just an unpredictable gal with super high ambition.