Group Blog
 
<<
กันยายน 2550
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30 
 
14 กันยายน 2550
 
All Blogs
 
Talk about the weather

Woke up today. It was 6.30am but it was still dark. My room's normally a hazy grey colour in the morning. Today it was pitch black. I almost fell over my fan looking for the snooze button on my mobile phone cum alarm clock. I looked out of the window. The sun was nowhere in sight. It was a cold, cloudy drizzley day. This might sound odd to anyone back home but they're not that common here.

Its 9.30 now. Its still raining, though just lightly, and there's no sign of the promised sunshine or 34 degrees mentioned on the morning weather foreact. I switched the air-con off in class earlier. None of the kids complained. It's still cold.

This morning almost everyone in the teachers room commented about the weather. We're English - we can't help but talk about how (crap) the weather usually is. At home, on a day like this everyone would complain. We'd leave for work and see miserable looking faces in the street. No one would smile. Buses would be full, and trains and tubes delayed or cancelled. We'd get annoyed and arrive in the office late and soaking wet.

This morning most people said how refreshing it was to have English style weather here. How nice it felt to get to school without having broken into a sweat. How it makes a change from the sticky heat or tropical downpours.

I'm not sure I agree, I think the weather is pretty crap. Having got used to the stifling heat, I kind of prefer it to days like this. But, one thing I like about it is the fact that people here don't let the crap weather affect their moods. Everyone from the cofee selling guy to the students getting ready to go to their early morning classes at Thammarsaat, from the morning curry lady, to the motorcycle taxi driver who brought me to school this morning still smiles. Big. broad wide smiles. OK I know they're not ' I'm so happy because the weather's so c**p smiles - Thai smiles have lots of meanings... and I know that I will never, ever manage to work out what most of them really mean' but, genuine ot not, it's really nice to see. Seeing other people so smiley gives you a buzz too. It lifts your mood. However crappy you feel inside, you can't help but want to smile back.


Create Date : 14 กันยายน 2550
Last Update : 14 กันยายน 2550 9:49:33 น. 2 comments
Counter : 236 Pageviews.

 
แครี่ ไม่เขียนภาษาไทยแล้วเหรอคะ


โดย: นมเปรี้ยวของหนู วันที่: 14 กันยายน 2550 เวลา:21:40:01 น.  

 
Sorry, I can't write Thai very well anymore. I started to write this blog when I worked in an office in BKK around a year and a hlaf ago. I was about to go back to England, for new year and a friend suggested I try and write Thai to practise the few bits and pieces that I'd managed to learn. But, I was very lazy. I didn't really write that much.

I finished my job in April the year before last, travelled around a bit, and since then have never had to try and write, so I'm not that good at it anymore. The more I learn about the language, the more I realise my crappy sentence structure etc, looks even worse written down than it sounds when it comes from my mouth.

I guess I should try and write Thai again at some point. It would give me something to think about and stop me being so lazy... It would also make this blog a bit more cheerful... I've no idea how to wallow in self pity in Thai :)


โดย: kerrie วันที่: 14 กันยายน 2550 เวลา:22:05:28 น.  

ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
  *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 

kerrie
Location :
กรุงเทพ Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add kerrie's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.