Group Blog
 
<<
สิงหาคม 2550
 
16 สิงหาคม 2550
 
All Blogs
 
Top of the League !!! And my last complaints about school (for now anyway...)

Just logged into the FA Premier League website to find that I'm top of my friend's Fantasy Football league.

Am still in shock.

I know I won't manage to stay up there. Like my team (Sheff U) last year (or like Everton and City this year) I reckon I'll start off well, then get disinterested, struggle, and spend the 2nd half of the season, propping up the bottom of the table, so just to prove that I was actually up there at one point, here's the evidence...

.

What makes it even sweeter is that the one Wednesdayite in the league is languishing somewhere near the bottom.

Not doing so well in the school league (am now 4th - not bad for a girl I guess), but that one is very competetive. Too many bored teachers with too much time on their hands to buy and sell players and change their team (its only been 2 weeks so far and some have already made 4 or 5 changes), and too many Matayom (secondary school) students who take the game way too seriously. Thai students can very extremely competetive.

If only the real Blades were as good.

Other stuff. School was pretty much the same as it always is. I like Thursdays as I normally get a few free periods in the morning, a chance to mark books, sort my lesson plans out, and a few moments to chill out, check e-mail, read the news on the net and catch up with things back home too. Plus, Thursdays and Fridays are normally reading and project days, lessons that the kids enjoy.

Have decided to try my best to stop complaining about school so much now. So this will, hopefully be my last couple of rants about it. Thai schools rarely change things. Complaining about the sheer stupidity of some of the Thai staff, or the ammount of beaurocracy involved in getting 20 worksheets photocopied doesn't improve things. It just annoys my colleagues (who all have the similar problems but prefer not to go on about it) and friends.

At the start of term someone (I think it was my Thai boss) put a scabby looking piece of A4 paper on the wall saying something like this:-

Great Teacher Inspire
Great Teacher Motivate
Great Teacher Change the world


The first time I saw it, I couldn't help wanting to add
Great TeacherS CAN SPELL

but I didn't think it would go down too well.

A couple of weeks ago, one of the teachers added a few more, the kind of motivational comments you used to find tagged onto the bottom of people's e-mail sigantures. I can't remember any of them offhand, but they're pretty vomit inducing. Another teachers response was:-

Never teach a pig to sing.
It wastes your time and it annoys the pig.

Kind of sums up how I feel about dealing with some of the people at my school, especially my Thai teaching "assistant." I say assistant in quotes as she rarely assists with anything. She randomly turns up, or more frequently, decides not to turn up for the lessons she's supposed to help with, rarely listens to what I say, barks instructions out in Thai that often contradict the ones I've just given the students, talks over the top of me, and my pet hate, frequenly tells my P3 and P4 class that they are going to watch "Mr Bean" when they are lining up outside the classroom, so they are really disappointed once they go inside, see writing and picture on the whiteboard and realise they have to do 'real' school work.

I tried talking to her. I tried talking to my bosses about it. I tried talking to her again and again. Each time, she sits there attentively, listens to what you say (or does a good impression of listening) smiles, then goes on to disregard everything you've said and do her own thing anyway. It's obvious she doesn't care. Its obvious no one else really cares either.

So no more trying to change things... Why waste the time and effort, when it only annoys the people you want to try to help.

The other big news at school was that they filmed a TV show earlier today. It was quite a well known Thai Quiz show, and I guess the school were proud to host it. I felt really sorry for our students though. Sure, they got to skive off school for the afternoon, and sit around clapping and cheering on cue (something Thai students are really good at - they should be - they seem to spend an awful lot of their 'scout lessons' practising) instead of studying, but they were cheering kids from other schools. It would have been nice if the TV production company had decided to use our own students so the kids would have had someone to actually cheer for.

I took a copy of the new constitution today. I know I won't be able to read it, but I felt quite sorry for it sitting on top of the pile, looking lonely, with no one else wanting to take it home. The pile has gone down a bit since Tuesday, but not much. There's still 40 or so left. Free to good (and even not so good, really bad, any in fact...) homes.


Create Date : 16 สิงหาคม 2550
Last Update : 17 สิงหาคม 2550 0:12:09 น. 2 comments
Counter : 426 Pageviews.

 
//www.100community.com/100ff/#


โดย: เก๋าเกมส์ วันที่: 20 กรกฎาคม 2551 เวลา:4:00:42 น.  

 
Top-Quality Fake Documents: We offer top-quality fake documents that encompass diplomas, degrees, and transcripts. Our attention to detail ensures these documents pass scrutiny.


โดย: Paula Guerra (สมาชิกหมายเลข 7204068 ) วันที่: 16 กันยายน 2566 เวลา:16:40:37 น.  

ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
  *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 

kerrie
Location :
กรุงเทพ Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add kerrie's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.