Group Blog
 
<<
พฤษภาคม 2551
 
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
 
5 พฤษภาคม 2551
 
All Blogs
 

New job

I start my new job tomorrow. I told a couple of people in Bangkok that I was really nervous about it. I am. It's very different from my last job in Bangkok. Matayom instead of Prathom. Kids that want to rebel, and prove that they really are teenagers, rather than sweet faced kids eager to copy the strange sounding noises that you are making. Large classes (up to 50 kids in a room) rather than less than 20. Only 2 other English colleagues. In Bangkok I was part of a team of 10, and there were native speaking kindergarten teachers to chat to and hang out with too. No air con classrooms and a fraction of the resources we had back in Bangkok.

I'm really looking forward to it. It should be a good challenge. But I'm worried too. Very worried. A couple of my friends in Bangkok can't understand why I have jitters about it. I should easily do it, they think. But it's not that simple.

I'm not worried about making an a**e of myself. If it turns out that I'm crap at teaching Matayom, no worries. I know that I can teach, and enjoy teaching Prathom. The thing that worries me most is that, should I turn out to be really hopeless at it, I will make my friend's sister, and her colleagues, who offered me the job look bad.

I'm also a bit worried about living upcountry. I love the countryside but I also loved living in Bangkok too. I've spent the last couple of months travelling around the north, northeast and the south and have really enjoyed it. I even spent a month working as a volunteer teacher in Naan, and another month and a bit doing the same thing in Kalasin. But a months easy. If you plan to travel each weekend (and realise that there are only 4 of them...) it seems that a month's far too short a time. If you feel homesick or start missing the city or your friends, it's easy to start counting down the number of days until you move on again.

But a whole year. That's much longer, and much, much harder.

I know that I like the north. I spent a month in Naan last Decemeber, and, aside from a few days around Christmas when, for the first time in the 3 years I've lived in Thailand, I felt really, really homesick, reallly enjoyed it.

I already have some friends here, but not that many. Most are much, much older than me. I only know 4 people around my own age. I'll be the youngest teacher in my department too. I wonder how I'll get on with my new collagues, whether I'll end up being part of their social circle or not, whether I'll find enough things to do with my free time (as there will be lots of it), whether I'll like my new house, and neighbourhood or not, whether I'll make friends easily, whether I'll enjoy the job and find the students be fun to teach, whether I'll manage to survive wearing a skirt 5 days a week...

One friend in Bangkok asked me why I decided to move out. Sometimes, when you realise that things aren't quite working out the way you wanted them to, you need to do something different, find some way to move on, make a new start. I gues this is it.




 

Create Date : 05 พฤษภาคม 2551
4 comments
Last Update : 5 พฤษภาคม 2551 11:25:51 น.
Counter : 459 Pageviews.

 

You can do. ^_^

 

โดย: รายารีย์ IP: 125.25.74.97 5 พฤษภาคม 2551 21:43:24 น.  

 

I hope so... Not had much to do yet.. Had to stand around waiting for 1/2 an hour whilst the man doing the assembly waffled ona bout everything from drugs to what will happen to people who's hair is too long, and listen to a guy introducing me.. in Thai... and watch students wandering around looking as lost as I am...

1st class in 10 mins... If the students know where theri room is...

Wish me luck :)

 

โดย: Kerrie IP: 61.7.173.69 6 พฤษภาคม 2551 10:13:08 น.  

 

Hey...It's been a while...
New job! Congratulations!!! and a whole year too.
How about a pack of tetley's?
I hope you enjoy it. I don't think the Thai teens are so hard as them teenagers here but who was I to know. Good luck, Kerrie!

I'll catch up with your stories now.

 

โดย: Ta (ta/'o-o/' ) 7 พฤษภาคม 2551 22:08:16 น.  

 

Cheers.... will try and read your site more often too (really need to start learning Thai again...)

Funny you should mention tea. The other day, just before I left Bangkok. I had my first cuppa in ages... it was soooooooooo good, though I never normally miss it.

My new boss has just come back from a trip to England so the fridge in the staff room was (they went pretty quickly) filled with mini dairy-milks (the real milky tasting English versions, not that crappy imported ones they sell over here) and fruit salad and black jack chews. They were great. Haven't had a black jack in years.

I'm still not sure what my address is. I've lived in my house for almost a week now but my landlord's housekeeper is still to scared to speak to me.

Yeah, compared to English kids, Thai teenagers are really sweet. They're not as stroppy and there's no way most of them would stand up to a teachers. I'm not sure I could teach secondary school kids back home.

 

โดย: Kerrie IP: 61.7.171.73 8 พฤษภาคม 2551 14:54:51 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


kerrie
Location :
กรุงเทพ Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add kerrie's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.