Group Blog
 
<<
¾ÄȨԡÒ¹ 2550
 
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
 
2 ¾ÄȨԡÒ¹ 2550
 
All Blogs
 
INFINITIVES and the -ING FORM after VERBS

The Basic

Here is an overview of common verbs that can be followed by infinitives , by the –ing form or by both.

1.Introduction

The question of which structure (complement) to use after a verb is a tricky one for learners. In some cases, you use the –ing form of a verb, and in other you use an infinitive with “to”. Most verbs can be flowed by only one from. For example, the verb “stop” is followed by an –ing form, while the verb “offer” is followed by a “to” + infinitive :

♥ I stopped smoking last year.
♥ I offered to pay the bill

Using the wrong form can cause misunderstandings. In the case of “stop”, for example, using a “to” form result in an entirely different sentence:
♥ I stopped to smoke a cigarette. * (= I stopped what I was doing in order to smoke a cigarette.)

(*Note to perfectionists: this “to” form is not, in fact, a complement of the verb, but a sentence adverbial.)



2.Verbs followed by the –ing form

some (not all) verbs referring to thought, feeling or to saying something:

♥ I enjoy working with Jane.
♥ Take your time – I don’t mind waiting.
♥ Have you considered publishing your report?

Other examples: contemplate, deny, detest, dislike, fancy, feel, like, imagine, miss, suggest

Other common verbs:
avoid, delay, finish, give up, keep, postpone, put off, risk



3.Verbs followed by “to” + infinitive

Some verbs that refer to the future:
♥ I hope to see you in the Manchester next week.
♥ We are planning to expand our business to Latin America.
♥ I expect to hear from her this afternoon.

Other examples : aim, choose, decide, want, wish

Certain verbs representing acts of communication:
♥ They have offered to pay in cash.
♥ He promised to deal with the problem immediately.
♥ She refused to accept my apology.
Other examples: agree demand, guarantee, threaten

Expression with “would” describing a preference:
♥ I would prefer to talk to him in person.
Other examples: would hate, would like, would love

Other common verbs:
afford, appear, forget, manage, need, pretend, seem



4.Both forms possible

Some verbs can be followed by either form, with little/no difference
in meaning. These include “begin”, “continue” and “start”:
♥ I started to dictate/started dictating a letter.

After “hate”, “like”, “love” and “prefer”, we can also use
both forms. The –ing form is more common when talking
about enjoying (or not enjoying) something, while the infinitive
is used more to talk about habits:
♥ I like cycling
♥ I like to cycle to work whenever possible.




Create Date : 02 ¾ÄȨԡÒ¹ 2550
Last Update : 2 ¾ÄȨԡÒ¹ 2550 4:48:55 ¹. 1 comments
Counter : 273 Pageviews.

 
I just wanted to thank you, this is a really usefull page, I found what I was looking for about the form of the verbs after verbs.

Thank you again , I´m glade there are people like you in the world.
Sincerely yours

Gabriel Roman from Mexico


â´Â: Gabriel R IP: 200.33.74.37 Çѹ·Õè: 15 Á¡ÃÒ¤Á 2552 àÇÅÒ:14:55:12 ¹.  

ª×èÍ :
Comment :
  *ãªé code html µ¡áµè§¢éͤÇÒÁä´é੾ÒÐÊÁÒªÔ¡
 

~K.Jayda~
Location :


[´Ù Profile ·Ñé§ËÁ´]

½Ò¡¢éͤÇÒÁËÅѧäÁ¤ì
Rss Feed

¼ÙéµÔ´µÒÁºÅçÍ¡ : 1 ¤¹ [?]






...A little girl with a very big smile...
Friends' blogs
[Add ~K.Jayda~'s blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.