P R I N C E of T U M B U R L I A

องค์ชายข่าหลอ
Location :
Urbana, IL United States

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Group Blog
 
<<
มิถุนายน 2552
 
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 
 
3 มิถุนายน 2552
 
All Blogs
 
Friends' blogs
[Add องค์ชายข่าหลอ's blog to your web]
Links
 

MY VIP Friend

 

Sharing MACBOOK resources

(ภาษาไทยด้านล่าง)

As some of you readers knew, it's my summer time! Yeah, I have entertained myself alot lately watching TV, series, and movies; meaning that my sister and I had to transfer files alot. My retired Dell notebook (running Windows XP) is now hooked up to my LG 26" flat panel. We (my sister and I) use it to watch TV, downloaded, streaming, and online stuff. We also catch up Thai news from it, too. My sister downloads bittorrent files like crazy using her new Dell notebook (running Windows Vista), and so do i on my Macbook (running Leopard). All of our notebooks are connected to our own wireless home network.

Here's the deal in the past. All the downloaded files had to go to my retired Dell, and we had used the conventional way of sharing. Guess what? Cliche external HDD! The problem was after transferring files to external HDD, we had to disconnect it from either computers and then walk for about 10 steps to connect it to the retired Dell. It was unbelievable, but we were too lazy to do that. I had never thought of sharing files between computers during the pre-Macbook period because it was not simple. I tried it once and the complicated steps just won hands down.

With Leopard, however, the sharing could never be simpler. I figured out to do it with a couple of blog/discussion board readings including that of apple website. I found it easier to share files on my computer with my retired Dell or my sister's Dell (Cross platform) than hers with the retired Dell (Native Windows OS). Since it was so easy, I went a little further experimenting sharing other resources such as Internet and DVD-drive. The sharing steps were simple and straightforward. Intuitive!

The only thing I don't like about it is that it requires setting up a new account (user) on my Macbook for the security purpose. This account will be used as a login from other computers; meaning I have to give the account login and password to the user that want to have access to my Macbook. Actually, it's not a big deal to set up a new account because I can delete the account at any time or choose to grant or deny access at any time. It's just psychological, I guess :b

ตอนแรกว่าจะเขียน blog นี้ให้เสร็จก่อนแต่ว่าพอดีมีธุระก็เลยต้องตั้ง blog เอาไว้ก่อนครับกลัวลืม เสร็จแล้วก็รีบมาเขียนให้เสร็จเลยครับ blog นี้ไม่ใช่ how to ครับ แต่เป็นการเล่าคร่าว ๆ ว่าที่มาที่ไปของการ sharing คืออะไรแล้วมันดีไม่ดียังไงครับ

ที่บ้านผมมี notebooks อยู่ 3 เครื่อง เครื่องแรกก็เป็น Dell เก่าของผมใช้ Windows XP อยู่ ตอนนี้ก็กลายไปเป็นตัวที่ต่อกับทีวีผมเอาไว้ดูหนังที่ไป download มาหรือไม่ก็ดู youtube แล้วก็พวก streaming videos อื่น ๆ ครับ เครื่องนึงก็เป็นเจ้า Macbook ของผมนี่แหละครับเป็น 10.5.6 Leopard ส่วนของน้องสาวเป็น Dell Inspiron 1420 ลง Windows Vista เอาไว้

เรื่อง download ไฟล์นี่ก็เป็นชีวิตจิตใจของทั้งผมแล้วก็น้องเลยครับ series ทั้งหลายบางทีไม่ได้ดูจากทีวีก็จะ download มาเก็บไว้แล้วก็ดูกันครับ ปัญหาคือเวลาถ่ายไฟล์เนี่ยก็ใช้ external HDD ผมใช้ WD Passport อยู่ครับ ถ่ายเสร็จก็ต้องมีซักคน ไม่ผมก็น้องสาว ต้องลุกเพื่อที่จะเอาไปเสียบกับ Dell เก่า เดินไกลมากครับไม่เกิน 10 ก้าว แต่ก็เกี่ยงกันน่าดู ผมก็นะ พอได้เครื่อง Macbook ใหม่มาก็อยากรู้อยากลองไปเรื่อยครับ ก็เลยได้ลองเรื่อง file sharing เนี่ยครับ อ่าน blog กับ discussion board มาไม่กี่อันก็ทำได้ละครับ (ข้อเสียนิดนึงคือ transfer files ผ่านทาง wireless connection ก็จะช้าครับ คือถ้ารีบ ๆ เนี่ยก็คงต้อใช้เจ้า Passport เหมือนเดิม) ผมเคยลอง share ดูเหมือนกันครับตอนที่ยังใช้เจ้า Dell ตัวเก่าอยู่ มันใช้ได้อยู่พักนึง แล้วอยู่ ๆ access denied ตลอดเลยครับ ผมก็ไม่รู้ว่ามันเกิดอะไรขึ้น ไม่เก่ง network ครับ คือถ้าอะไรที่มันไม่ intuitive ผมก็ไม่ค่อยอยากจะเสียเวลาศึกษาเท่าไหร่ครับ เพราะว่าแค่งานวิจัยที่ทำอยู่ก็ไม่มีเวลาแล้วครับ ต่อนะครับ ทำ file sharing สำเร็จผมก็ลองต่อเลยครับ ลอง share internet connection แล้วก็ dvd drive ดูก็สำเร็จเป็นอย่างดี ง่ายครับ มันเสียอยู่อย่างนึงคือผมต้อง set up user ใหม่เอาไว้ share น่ะครับ ก็ต้องตั้ง privilege เอาไว้ไม่ให้เป็น admin อ่ะครับ แล้วก็จำกัดว่าให้เข้าตัวไหนได้บ้าง แต่พอทำเสร็จแล้วก็ไม่มีอะไรยากแล้วครับ

อีกนิดครับ ผมว่าเวลาที่ผม share ให้กับ XP หรือไม่ก็ Vista เนี่ยมันง่ายกว่าที่ Vista share กันเองกับ XP อีกครับ ทั้ง ๆ ที่เป็น Windows เหมือนกันแท้ ๆ นะครับ หรือว่าผมทำไม่เป็นก็ไม่รู้นะครับ แต่อย่างนึงที่บอกได้ก็คือ ผมไม่ค่อยชอบอ่านคู่มืออะไรมากมายนักครับ อ่านนิดหน่อยพอให้รู้แล้วก็ลงมือทำเลย ดังนั้นถ้ามันไม่ intuitive เนี่ยผมก็จะต้องรอจนกว่าจะมีเวลาที่จะคลุกกับมัน หรือไม่ก็ไม่ใช้ไปเลยครับ





 

Create Date : 03 มิถุนายน 2552
2 comments
Last Update : 4 มิถุนายน 2552 0:36:07 น.
Counter : 835 Pageviews.

 

 

โดย: Resource of life 3 มิถุนายน 2552 13:23:39 น.  

 

I have never tried sharing files between Mac and Window but did try to send files through bluetooth between Mac and Mac.... seems simple but my friend and I took ages to do it!! (we were both new users at that time though:p) However, it got easier after the first time...and the transfer were quite fast as well...which was great!
Have a nice day!
Ni

 

โดย: SENieez 4 มิถุนายน 2552 18:32:35 น.  

ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
  *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.