Hotline News Today
Group Blog
 
 
พฤศจิกายน 2549
 
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930 
 
26 พฤศจิกายน 2549
 
All Blogs
 
Episode 16: Snow Storm in Nashville

January 3rd, 2003 (at 02.30 PM - CT)

Written at my apartment,


Dear all,

"Are you a student from Thailand who got graduate assistantship?" The secretary of my department asked me yesterday while I was working for my professor. “Yes, I am" I replied her. "OK, tomorrow, you need to sign a contact for your graduate assistantship at Human Resource Department at Main Campus" She said.

I decided to go to main campus by bus in this morning around 8.30 AM because I had to go back for working in downtown campus around 11.30 AM. Even though there was some snow at that time, it did not a big deal for me. While I was reviewing and signing the contact, the secretary of Human Resource Department told me that I need to hurry to do it because the outside weather was getting terrible. At that time, I did not know how worst it was because it seemed nothing from inside. When I went outside, OH MY GOSH!! What the h-ll going on? The outside was extremely terrible as she said. Even though I have seen snow last month at Smoky Mountain, this time, it is much more than. The only thing that I saw from my eyes was only snow and snow storm!!. I saw only white color everywhere and could not differentiate which one is street or footpath. Many cars crashed one another. Some cars were broken and could not move. The traffic was very terrible also.

I walked difficultly among the snow storm to the bus stop and wait it which usually comes every 15 minute. Fifteen minute passed, "OK, maybe because of the traffic problem" I said myself. Thirty minute passed, "Umm, it would come sooner" I still am optimistic. Forty Five minute passed someone waiting beside me called the bus company and asked what happened. Damn it! He said that every bus was canceled due to a bad road condition. How come was it? I just took the bus this morning and there was no any bus right now. It meant that I had to walk among snow storm to downtown campus which is far from here around 7-8 miles. Can you imagine how I am? I regret myself why she did not tell me to go main campus two day earlier.

Along the way, I saw only the accidents and catastrophes occurred on the street. Many cars can not go anywhere and they struck on the way. They seemed to have much more problems than mine. I walked carefully due to so much slippery road, but still quickly because I was really concern that I might not come to work on time. Every step that I walk sinking in to the mass of snow falling on the street which was deep around 6-8 inch until I cannot see my shoes. I walked around over an hour to downtown campus. I was really surprised again because there was nobody in the campus, even the staffs and the professors working there. So, I called my professor and knew that the university announced closing today. Oh! Should I be glad or not?

Best Wishes,

Tui





Create Date : 26 พฤศจิกายน 2549
Last Update : 5 ธันวาคม 2549 0:44:50 น. 0 comments
Counter : 262 Pageviews.

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

Crackerjack
Location :
กรุงเทพ Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 2 คน [?]




Google
Friends' blogs
[Add Crackerjack's blog to your web]
Links
 

MY VIP Friend

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.