Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
 
มีนาคม 2549
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
 
7 มีนาคม 2549
 
All Blogs
 
#1--- What am I going to do when I get back to Thailand?

"I may earn my PhD soon. After that I will go back and serve as a university prof until retirement.

If I lived and worked here, I would earn around 80K/year.... Life would be OK. A BMW? Nah, I prefered a Lexus!! :)

Back to what I will do, I will earn 15,000 Baht/month.... I will be enjoying Khaw-Rad-Kaeng in my humble canteen..... If I still worked industriously as a researcher, I would earn some extra-money (up to a million baht per year)....

But I plan to do moderately on my research, see my students prospering, build a house, raise a dog, cook dinner for my family, see my children growing, read physics book, write some books, play chess, enjoy my time with my old friends, dine Thai delicacy, play sports, arrange wedding ceremonies for my kids, bless my newly born grandchildren, go gray with my wife, and die with dignity.

I had no such plans if I lived in the US. My dignity of living here equals to what I have in my checking/saving account. "


Create Date : 07 มีนาคม 2549
Last Update : 24 มีนาคม 2549 22:29:35 น. 15 comments
Counter : 299 Pageviews.

 
There is no place (seriously) like Thailand ^_^

I used to have the same feeling but I am so pround to be Thai citizen, eat Thai food, chat with my Thai friends, etc. I decided to move back to Thailand after 3 years of working in the US.

There are so many things that you can do other than what you mentioned above ka ^_^.
I went to Barn & Noble months ago, in one book, it said like 20 things you can do after you graduated PhD.

I will post for you if I can find that book again ^_^

By the way, I mentioned your name on my blog and also make a link too. -- a good thing though

I am so hungry of Thai food ^_^ (almost 3 pm in Chicago)

//spaces.msn.com/ammyweb/blog/cns!8D767FF50B696715!472.entry



โดย: ammy IP: 24.12.100.148 วันที่: 7 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:3:40:22 น.  

 
Thanks for your comment krub...

And, of course, I would like to take a look into that book....

I've seen many people (myself included) always using other people's quote.... Well, to be honest, that might make you look good and educated...

When I think conversely... Do we look educated if we always borrowed other's in our discussions then?

So, that's why I would like to post my qoutes which truly reflect what I think, express, try to convey....

There is no offense; Aristotle's, Lincoln's, Paracellus's are all good.... But they should be prouder if humanity is moving up without them though!! Let them rest in peace some time...

Please take care,
A.T.


โดย: A.T. (amatuer translator ) วันที่: 7 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:4:15:37 น.  

 
Sometimes..not to be underestimated the way of our living but..in some case, U really make it right !...Also, in bkk or thailand, there is high level of competition in workplace ..forgot..u gonna b lecturer right ka?...

ummm....If yr life overther is so much better once comparing in moving back..why not stay ka???...Take the most advantage and pround to b thai aboard, try to increase in our nationality that at least there is one Thai guy work aboard..and yr earning is such high to acquire Lexus or BMW...No bother coming..to compete with those ppl who..less competitive than you..let them compete in their own market..(In mean Thai)..

I guess..my study really drived me crazy as..businessssssssss is reallyyyyyyyyy sick me now !..

Don't forget ka..U never forgot of You are Thai, pround to B Thai wherever U are, that's the most important....and U can ALways..always will come back to visit Bkk as much as u want...as money is really prime factor..eieiei..at least nowadays in the world of ........................++++


โดย: I Agree Ka !!! IP: 80.41.158.20 วันที่: 7 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:5:39:11 น.  

 
It's up to you!

Is there any relatives sign his/her name in your contract with Thai government (in case of governmental grant)?. Please carefully talk to them about the "after shock" effect.

Actually, if I had a change, I surely will do so!!!



โดย: dont wanna no วันที่: 8 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:0:23:08 น.  

 
Though I did not receive scholarship from government, I did come to US by Private University fund with the commitment to return to teach there after my graduation.

Things changed, I never blamed anyone but myself. I had kids and that changed that entire perspective of my life. I sold my dignity for my children futures (at least that is what I beleive). Fortunately I only took 50K toward my Master degree. I paid them back about $100K which I was fortunate again to get that money from refinancing the house. I felt like I am selfish but I only got one life and one choice to make.

My point is people have their own way. I always respect others. I admire you for your un-selfish thought. I wish you the best with your future. No matter what path that we should the happiness is with us.

BTW, I drive MB now and earn more than what you mentioned. But I never think that would be able to justify my happiness. My happiness depends on my children well being.


โดย: Piglet-Yorkie IP: 12.20.201.125 วันที่: 8 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:5:36:06 น.  

 
To me, there is no need to justify the choice you make as long as it doesn't affect others.

On a personal note, I came to the US with an assistantship from a US university. Thus, I have no worry about any career choice I make. Most of my high school friends who decided to stay came to the US for a higher education without being obligated to the government or any other agencies. They planned their path ahead of time.

Until this day, I still remember what one of my friends said when we were 9th graders. Apparently as it shows, we were all on the same wavelength all along. She said this after our class was strongly encouraged by many teachers to apply for a government scholarship such that we'd get to study abroad starting from high school: she'd never want to take money from the government because she wanted to be free.

And certainly free she is today to do whatever she desires. With someone of that caliber, it's not too hard to imagine that she is able to secure a faculty position at a US medical school. Yes, she's now on faculty at the US school and kindly declined to return for a faculty position at one of the best medical schools in Thailand.


โดย: CIT IP: 131.215.11.201 วันที่: 10 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:3:07:16 น.  

 
ทุกอย่างมันก็ขึ้นอยู่กับว่า "อะไรเป็นสิ่งสำคัญในชีวิต"
สำหรับแต่ละคนย่อมแตกต่าง บางคนเงิน บางคนครอบครัว บางคนความแน่นอนในชีวิต
อย่างน้อยเมื่อรู้ เราก็เลือกเดินในทางที่ตอบสนองคำตอบนั้น..ถ้าเป็นไปได้


โดย: Overseas วันที่: 10 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:4:52:42 น.  

 
ผมก็ตั้งใจกลับไปทำงานที่เมืองไทยเหมือนกัน การทำงานข้าราชการในเมืองไทย เงินเดือนแค่พอกินไปวัน ๆ จะหาซื้อรถ BMW หรือ แค่โตโยต้า ธรรมดา ๆ ยังยากเลยนะครับ ผมว่างั้น เว้นแต่ จะหารายได้พิเศษเอง

ผมกลับไม่เห็นเหตุอันสมควร ที่รัฐจะเลี้ยงข้าราชการจำนวนมาก ๆ ๆ แต่ยากจน แล้วปล่อยให้เขาไปหาเงินเอง ที่จริงรัฐควรจะเลี้ยงข้าราชการ ได้อยู่ได้อย่างมีเกียรติ และมีกฎเกณฑ์ในการประเมินการทำงานอย่างจริงจัง และห้ามทำงานนอกเวลา ที่ไม่ใช่งานของราชการโดยเด็ดขาด เพื่อให้เขาทุ่มเทให้งานราชการอย่างเต็มที่ ไม่ใช่ ทำงานราชการเป็นงานอดิเรก แล้วหันไปทำงานนอกเป็นงานประจำ เพื่อหาเงินเสริมให้ชีวิตมั่นคงครับ



โดย: POL_US วันที่: 14 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:4:49:42 น.  

 
Dear K.Pol_US,

Thanks for your comments and your determination to serve....

Thai governmental system is too bulky but ineffective... This deserves a long writing to discuss about it... I will reflect and write it down when I have time (maybe after my oral exam.)

Cheers,
A.T.


โดย: amatuer translator วันที่: 24 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:2:13:28 น.  

 
After knowing you for a while ,I feel that Thailand still has some hope.....

To be honest, for now I cannot accept Thai governmental system...

I am the one who would like to help the Nation.. But I am afraid that I cannot stand enough in this system...


โดย: The phu (The phu ) วันที่: 4 พฤษภาคม 2549 เวลา:0:13:28 น.  

 
ขอบคุณครับ
New Balance Black Friday


โดย: takakung วันที่: 11 ตุลาคม 2554 เวลา:1:04:54 น.  

 


โดย: akeros วันที่: 17 ตุลาคม 2554 เวลา:13:37:22 น.  

 


โดย: ratko วันที่: 18 ตุลาคม 2554 เวลา:1:19:46 น.  

 


โดย: SenGoKu วันที่: 15 พฤศจิกายน 2554 เวลา:0:27:14 น.  

 


โดย: dannyloa วันที่: 20 พฤศจิกายน 2554 เวลา:2:38:20 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.