Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
 
มีนาคม 2549
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
 
6 มีนาคม 2549
 
All Blogs
 
The Beginning

My family has been serving Thailand as governmental officers for 3 generations. Even though I consider myself as an ancient relic because many of my family members are now working in private sectors primarily....

What's the reason why I chose to be in the governmental sector? That has nothing to do with my family background what-so-ever. When I was studying in my undergraduate level, I had "a common dream" of being rich and having my own businesses.

Anyway life always has a turning point from time to time, right? In my case, I had a contractual obligation to work as a civil governmental officer after my graduation. That might be considered as the first turning point in my professional career.

Few weeks after graduation, before I left BKK to a place where I wasn't familair. I went to my best friend's house, and met his father.... He's a university professor; he was greeting me with this auspicious quote. "Welcome to a humble profession of serving his majesty the king!"

In the year I graudated, Thais killed each other with political conflicts and along with personal issues and arrogance. The gravity of the situations was eventually subsided by the kindness of his majesty the king.

Meanwhile, my career in the middle of no-where in a sugarcane plantation taught me much much more than I expected. I realized that not only were there plenty of Thai people out there struggling and needing helps, but also the roots of the problems.

A turning point came again... I still chose to be in a governmental system as a university faculty. I've transformed myself from a position where I served as a professional to a scientist/researcher/university instructor....

As a scientist, I have two professional objectives;

1. Production of my academic research, and;
2. Production of human resources.

We've gone very far from the Era of Hypocretes or Aristotle... In that period, a person could become an omniscientist... But science and technology have been tremendously evolved from those good old days to a point where one good researcher cannot stand alone to become a great researcher.

I have one expertise... However, it's really far from the point that I would like to accomplish. I need a lot of help to reach out.

Tentative scope of my research will be mathematical modeling in biology. Hence, I need several lines of expertise to achieve my ultimate goal. I'm willing to work closely with physicians, pharmacists, mathematicians, statisticians, engineers, chemists, biologists, and, even economists.

Vice versa, I would like to reach out and facilitate others with my expertise also...

Making friends are a far more reasonable act to do than making foes, I believe.... Hence, if I can contribute, just let me know and I will actively participate...

From all these 15 years after my graduation from my undergraduate study, I think I have many ideas, positive attitudes, and perspectives that I can contribute to make something different for our society---starting from a ground level, our younger generation and its education.

This is just the beginning.

Hope to see you there,
A.T.





Create Date : 06 มีนาคม 2549
Last Update : 9 มีนาคม 2549 3:16:11 น. 8 comments
Counter : 344 Pageviews.

 
Glad to hear that you love what you are doing. Being professional is the most important thing for a scientist, and for everyone else with a career for that matter.

I hope you can make as much contribution to the Thai society as you wish. Good luck.


โดย: CIT IP: 131.215.11.201 วันที่: 10 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:1:15:47 น.  

 
"a humble profession". I really like this word. I don't know why you call yourself Amatuer Translator but you certainly are a good story teller and writer.

How's your teaching this semester? Final exam season? Come to think about it, I'm still not done with the grading just yet and the deadline is approaching.


โดย: Tony Almeida วันที่: 10 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:22:32:11 น.  

 
You are surely a good story teller. Your students will be lucky to have you as their teacher.

PS. Don't know why my post does not appear though.


โดย: Tony Almeida วันที่: 10 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:22:36:30 น.  

 
Dear K.Tony,

I accept your comment as a sweet compliment though... Thank you krub.

I remember that, on the very last day I was working in my school, there was a male student coming and talking to me...

This guy--- All of the faculty agreed that he was one of the worst students we ever had--- told me that; "Ajarn, you're the best one I ever attended in my study." (in fact, his study was relatively much longer than his classmate.)

I was stunned and appreciated by his statement at the same time (Actually, at first, I wasn't sure that he was really mean it!!--I was too afraid of him though) .. Because, all those years, I always gave him a tough time, he fell my courses many times as I could remember...

After a flash of thought and reading through his voice and his body languages, I assumed that was really what he meant....

Those conversations were still there in my mind and memory... encouraging me to be a better individual to meet expectations of my students.

Thanks again krub.

A.T.


โดย: A.T. (amatuer translator ) วันที่: 11 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:0:26:16 น.  

 
Your story gives a good inspiration. And it also makes me wonder whether I'm too tough during the exam grading. I'm still not getting used to be the one who grades, usually the other way round.

Just another curiosity, how can economists work with you in biology modelling?


โดย: Tony Almeida วันที่: 11 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:11:06:44 น.  

 
Yes, of course....

And, one more thing, economists can get do a subsequent research from my original one.... determining what's the influence of the product on .... economics in general.


โดย: A.T. IP: 129.82.96.71 วันที่: 11 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:12:11:48 น.  

 
I just heard from one of my senior who went back to teach in Konkhean 2 years ago after earning her Ph.D. in Environmental Science.

Her life is really tough with the low income and hardship in getting any grant from goverment. One day there was a good news, another day was another story. She and her husband vow to not having any kids. But amazingly she is very happy with her life.

One thing that she said to me "I am very happy that I got a chance to serve our country and do what I love professionally, I hope one day I wouldn't be changed by the system."

Hang in there and beheld your determination!


โดย: Piglet-Yorkie วันที่: 24 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:0:31:44 น.  

 
She should be very tough and darn stubborn to resist such harsh but indulging environments.

If she would like to know a guy like that, please let her know that I know one. :)

Cheers,
A.T.


โดย: amatuer translator วันที่: 24 มีนาคม 2549 เวลา:2:05:46 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.