Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
<<
มิถุนายน 2550
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
 
16 มิถุนายน 2550
 
All Blogs
 

The Halocaust and Movies:

===================================================

Finally, my problems in the lab were solved, and the results were pouring out satisfactorily. Expectedly, I may be able to close all lab works within the next few weeks, and, after that, I will focus solely on writing my dissertation.

So after a difficult time in my professional career, it might be a good time to talk about one of the most cruel times in modern human history, the Halocaust.

Essentially, it's all about unreasonable hates, jealousy, misconception, seeking a scapegoat for their failure, seeking supremacy for their race, and politics.

At the basic level, all humans are equal.... There is no supreme race among us regardless of their religion, geographical settings, and skin colors.

For some reasons, people in the country where halocaust was tragically initiated, a politician was successfully using their economic problems as a key issue to point out whom was to blame.

The Jews were scapegoats on this, and they thought that the Jews were a lower class of humans and they deserved to be eradicated, all of them.

With this madness, almost all of Jewish population in Europe ranging from the population in Germany, Poland, and many others were almost wiped out.... like a pile of dirt on their front porch.

Thus, this event is truly a "memorable" event where humanity should reflect upon.

There were several great movies about the Halocaust. To name a few, they are the Schindler's List, Life is Beautiful, the Pianist, and Munich.

These movies won more than 15 awards from the Academy.... Some of them were awarded with the Best Picture Award...

The question "why" is certainly out of the question.... It's the most remarkably tragic event in all mankinds. So, perception of the gravity among audiences is well-perceived.

For me, I liked the Life is Beautiful most... Because the movie did not illustrate the Halocaust in an extreme fashion.... I, as an audience, already had known about it. But, the story within the movie was a story of ordinary human beings with love and care....

The Schindler's List came in the second, personally... Although the cruelty of the Halocaust was portraited so graphically, the story of a German "boss" who tried to save "his employees" was beyond extraordinary... and, certainly, it captured many hearts.... So was mine.

Which one was your most favorite?

===================================================




 

Create Date : 16 มิถุนายน 2550
16 comments
Last Update : 18 มิถุนายน 2550 9:21:42 น.
Counter : 781 Pageviews.

 

Life is Beautiful is a great movie. It's funny yet tragic, distant yet so close. It's about love and hope even in the face of death. Love it.

 

โดย: Rive Gauche 16 มิถุนายน 2550 21:14:05 น.  

 

I just come to visit you quicky. I have an essay to finish today ka (actually the deadline was a few days ago but I asked the prof to postpone it for me). Will read this blog later on.

Thanks for your quote. Surprisingly I am not sad anymore. Life is never better ka. Million of thanks for your concern. I copied some of your sentences to a blog friend (hotp you don't mind). She just has a broken heart. You have not told me if you reveived the pictures.

Have a nice day ka.

 

โดย: the Vicky 16 มิถุนายน 2550 21:26:21 น.  

 

ก๊าก...เพิ่งเห็นว่า quote นั่น เขียนโดย A.T. ค่ะ
ขอบคุณมากๆ ค่ะ

 

โดย: the Vicky 16 มิถุนายน 2550 21:41:54 น.  

 

All of the above-mentioned holocoust films have touched my heart. But for me the film "Triumph of the Spirit"(1989) eclipses them all. The film is a remarkable archivement that predates and even eclipses Schindler's List. But sadly that it's not widely shown.

 

โดย: MoneyPenny 17 มิถุนายน 2550 18:20:52 น.  

 

Congrats on the progress, Khun A.T.!
I know how relieved and jubilant one can be in a situation like you're in right now.

Regarding the halocaust, it was indeed a terrible tragedy. When hatred is extreme, killing of that magnitude ensues. Jews are known to be exclusive and, to some, "selfish" (and wealthy in many cases). The claim that they did not accept outsiders into their circle led to hatred by others around them is something to look into, but it can never justify any killing.

Thanks for the invitation. I hope you spare some time to listen to what the Thai government does not want Thais to listen to: //saturdayvoice.com/ especially on the weekends.

Best,
PD

 

โดย: piangdin 17 มิถุนายน 2550 20:32:58 น.  

 

ขออภัย มาช้าไปหน่อยนะครับ วีคเอนด์นี้ยุ่งๆนิดหน่อย :)

ตามมาคุยเรื่องหนังต่อครับ ต้องออกตัวก่อนว่า ทั้งสองเรื่อง Schindler's List และ Life is Beautiful นี่ ผมดูมานานมากแล้วครับ คิดว่าน่าจะราวๆ 7-8 ปี ตั้งแต่ยังอยู่เมืองไทย เคยมี DVD Schindler's List ด้วย แต่จำรายละเอียดไม่ค่อยได้แล้ว เดี๋ยวคงต้องลองหามาดูใหม่อีกซักที

เท่าที่พอจำได้ คิดว่าหนังทั้งสองเรื่องทำได้ดีมากๆทั้งคู่นะครับ แต่สำหรับความชอบแล้ว ผมอาจจะกลับกับเพื่อนคนอื่นๆรวมทั้ง A.T. ด้วย ผมชอบ Schindler's List มากกว่า ด้วยเหตุผลที่นุ่นให้ไว้ในพารากราฟสุดท้ายนั่นแหละ ผมอาจจะ sensitive ในเรื่องประเภทแบบนี้ หากได้รับรู้เรื่องราวที่"กินใจ"แบบนี้ ก็ทำให้เราอ่อนไหว ซึ้ง และศรัทธาได้มากๆ

เอ้อ.. ว่าจะบอกอย่างนึง เวลาเดินขึ้นบันไดเลื่อนยี่ห้อ Schindler เนี่ย จะต้องนึกถึงหนังเรื่องนี้ทุกที เกี่ยวกันมั้ยเนี่ย.. :)

กับ Life is Beautiful จริงๆแล้วก็อย่างที่บอกว่าเป็นหนังที่ทำได้ดีมากเช่นกัน แต่เป็นด้วยความชอบส่วนตัวของผมเองมากกว่า ผมอาจจะเฉยๆในการเอาเรื่องของ comedy มารวมกับ tragedy นั่นก็ส่วนนึง อีกส่วนนึง อย่าหาว่าผม americanized เลยครับ ผมคิดว่าหนังอเมริกันเป็นหนังที่ทำได้ดีที่สุดในโลก หนังที่เราได้ดูกันเป็นส่วนใหญ่นี้ก็มักจะเป็นหนังอเมริกัน สำหรับ Life is Beautiful แม้จะเป็นหนังอเมริกันเหมือนกัน แต่การที่เป็นการเล่าเรื่องราวของคนเชื้อสาย Italian ซึ่งก็แน่นอนว่าต้องใช้ภาษา Italian จึงทำให้ผมรู้สึก "ไม่คุ้นเคย" (ซึ่งเป็นข้อบกพร่องของผมเอง) ทั้งๆที่การดำเนินเรื่องของหนังทำได้อย่างดีเยี่ยม

สำหรับ Munich และ Freedom Writers ยังไม่ได้ดูเลยครับ จะหามาดูเร็วๆนี้
Munich ผมก็เชื่อมั่นในฝีมือของ Steven Spielberg เช่นเดียวกับ Schindler's List ของเค้า
ส่วน Freedom Writers นี่ สงสัยต้องรีบดูเพราะ Hilary Swank ก็เป็นหนึ่งในดาราคนโปรดครับ อิอิ
ผมเคยดูหนังที่เกี่ยวกับครูอยู่เรื่องนึง จำชื่อเรื่องไม่ได้แล้ว ไม่แน่ใจว่าใช่ Stand and Deliver หรือเปล่า แต่จำได้ว่าเล่นโดย Edward James Olmos เป็นเรื่องเกี่ยวกับครู math ที่ต้องสอนนักเรียนเหลือขอ Hispanic และก็จบลงด้วยบทกินใจเช่นเดียวกันครับ

อ้อ.. พูดถึงดาราคนโปรดเนี่ย Schindler's List ก็เล่นโดย Liam Neeson และ Ben Kingsley ที่ผมชื่นชอบทั้งคู่เช่นกันครับ แต่ถ้าถามถึงคนโปรดจริงๆ คงต้องยกให้ Tom Hanks ครับ :)

 

โดย: twojay 17 มิถุนายน 2550 23:19:31 น.  

 

นุ่นครับ เมื่อกี้พี่ได้ลองเปิดบล็อกเก่าๆของนุ่นช่วงเดือนเม.ย. ช่วงนั้นพี่แทบจะไม่ได้เข้ามาอ่านหรืออัพเดทบล็อกเลย
เผอิญเจอเรื่องราวที่คุณพล POL_US ไปเยี่ยมนุ่นที่โคโลราโด อ่านไปอ่านมา ค้นไปค้นมา เข้าใจว่าคุณพลคงจะต้องรู้จักกับน้องชายของพี่เป็นแน่แท้ เดี๋ยวเห็นทีจะต้องแวะเข้าไปทักทายหน่อยล่ะครับ

 

โดย: twojay 18 มิถุนายน 2550 4:21:15 น.  

 

สวัสดีครับพี่นุ่น มาเยี่ยมสองสามครั้งแล้ว แต่ไม่ได้ล๊อกอิน เลยไม่ได้ทิ้งรอยเท้าไว้ครับ

ยินดีด้วยนะครับ สำหรับปัญญาที่แก้ไขได้ตามที่คาดหวังครับ และขอให้เขียนเสร็จเร็ว ๆ นะครับ งานพี่ จะต้องเป็นงานที่ได้รับการยอมรับนับถือ และที่สำคัญ เป็นประโยชน์ ต่อมวลมนุษยชาติอย่างยิ่งด้วยครับ

สำหรับพี่ Twojay สวัสดีครับ ตอบคำถามไว้ใน Blog พี่แล้วครับ

 

โดย: POL_US 18 มิถุนายน 2550 17:48:58 น.  

 

ขอบคุณที่ไปแจ้งค่ะ สบายใจแล้วค่ะ

 

โดย: the Vicky 19 มิถุนายน 2550 1:03:05 น.  

 

Hello,
It's always good to see you agian!!! How are you ka?
I am having MAMA for my supper at 1 am in the morning.

I think they have used the same resourses and same idea but at least they try. It's a meeting among female activists/working women. They enjoy to see eachother and I enjoy learning from thier experiences.

Ha ha, how do you know that some people want to live my life. Well, I want to live you life instead !!!! I wish I got PhD. and had spent time in the US.!!! I think millions of people wish they were you!

Have a nice evening ka!!!

 

โดย: the Vicky 27 มิถุนายน 2550 6:11:06 น.  

 

สวัสดีค่ะ สบายดีนะคะพี่ a.t.
ช่วงนี้ไม่ค่อยได้แวะเข้ามาแถวนี้เท่าไหร่
ขอบคุณพี่ a.t. ที่ยังโผล่มาทักทายเสมอนะคะ :)
เอาใจช่วยให้งานเสร็จเร็วๆจะได้ไปชมเทนนิสกันหนุกๆนะคะ

พูดถึงหนัง จริงๆก็ชอบดูทุกแนว
แต่พวกที่พูดถึงเนี่ย ยังไม่เคยดูเลยซักเรื่อง -_-"
(ตอนนี้กำลังอยากดู ratatouille อยู่ค่ะ ...อิอิ)

รักษาสุขภาพนะคะ

 

โดย: r k i 27 มิถุนายน 2550 6:39:32 น.  

 

Just wanted to stop by and say hi. Summer has finally arrived. Stay cool.



 

โดย: Rive Gauche 27 มิถุนายน 2550 7:29:59 น.  

 

แวะมาส่งความคิดถึงให้คุณ A.T. ค่ะ

มีความสุขมากๆ นะคะ

 

โดย: the Vicky 5 กรกฎาคม 2550 5:49:24 น.  

 

I am leaving for Houston this morning krub.

Will call once I am settled in krub.

 

โดย: ruiN 9 กรกฎาคม 2550 23:17:47 น.  

 

Just arrived here in Houston safe and sound krub. Will call soon krub.

 

โดย: ruiN 11 กรกฎาคม 2550 14:12:39 น.  

 

แวะมาส่งความคิดถึงอีกแล้วค่ะ

 

โดย: the Vicky 15 กรกฎาคม 2550 3:51:39 น.  

ชื่อ : * blog นี้ comment ได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
Comment :
  *ส่วน comment ไม่สามารถใช้ javascript และ style sheet
 


amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.