Group Blog
 
<<
มกราคม 2551
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031 
 
7 มกราคม 2551
 
All Blogs
 
What to cook ?

I have to cook English food tomorow.

Whenever any of his foreign friend's leave here, the guy who runs the internet cafe I like to go to in Naan, normally asks them to cook a meal for him. He wants to know what their food is like. In return he cooks them a Thai meal and asks them which is best. The Thai dish wins everytime. Last week, I told him I'd cook on Tuesday. He didn't sound that serious, so, I didn't really believe that I'd acutally have to do the cooking bit for real.

He's already invited his friends. I met one of them earlier this evening, a Polish guy who's also working as a volunteer teacher here. He asked what I was planning to make.

I told him the truth, I've no idea what to cook... English food tastes disgusting. Boiled veg, spuds and grilled meat are dull, especially when compared to chilli infused Thai dishes. The only things that don't taste of lard (cakes, yorkshire puds, steak and kidney pies) all require an oven, something most Thai kitchens don't have. Here, people rarely have a 'cooker' like at home. Most people just have a pan and a big bottle of gas. When they grill things, they usually use a little red brick charcoal stove.

At the moment 'English Breakfast' (bacon, scrambled egg, mushrooms, chips and toast) or 'bangers and mash' are the hot favourites but it will be a bit wierd cooking a greasy breakfast (and even wierder eating it) at 8pm at night.. Fishcakes (if I can remember how to make the batter) peas and chips is also another possibility...

Unless anyone has any better ideas ??? If anyone think of anything English thats easy-ish to cook, and tastes OK, let me know...


Create Date : 07 มกราคม 2551
Last Update : 7 มกราคม 2551 21:04:35 น. 4 comments
Counter : 335 Pageviews.

 
Too late now..can't think anyway.......
Baked beans on fried bread....yum yum...nice with Goon Chiang...(Thai sausages)....with a squirt of brown sauce...and a nice cup of tea!

I can see a stairway to heaven!


โดย: Ta IP: 194.81.199.59 วันที่: 8 มกราคม 2551 เวลา:21:43:33 น.  

 
Not a bad idea..

Did chips (proper thick cut English style chips - not a crappy american french fry in sight...) and salad (and brought fried chicken as I reckoned it was better to buy it from the market than make a has of cooking it) in the end... I even managed to find a nice big bottle of Lee and Perrins Worcester Sauce, Everyone thought it tasted great.

One of the teachers at school told me she'd never ever eaten french fries or celery, so I promised the other teachers that, if it tasted OK, I'd cook them chips and salad on my last day too.

It was really strange cooking at school. They only have giant sized pans in their kitchen, but somehow or other I managed it.... and, the verdict.

The teachers (and the Prathom 1,2 and 3 kids that got fed the left overs) thought English style chips taste great... :)


โดย: kerrie วันที่: 23 มกราคม 2551 เวลา:20:37:40 น.  

 
Nice one! Do some onion rings as well next time....
Use 'Koki' for battered...


โดย: Ta (ta/'o-o/' ) วันที่: 23 มกราคม 2551 เวลา:20:40:15 น.  

 
erm... am not sure that there will be a next time (though after writing this, I have a feeling that I'll have to cook chips for a couple of friends in BKK when I finally head back there next month...)

I'm not normally that good at (or that keen on) cooking... though will definitely have to learn how to cook Thai food before I get back to England. Can't bear the thought of eating English food everyday.

Though after a month in Naan (and a lot of practise at school) I can now make a 1/2 decent som tam :)


โดย: kerrie วันที่: 24 มกราคม 2551 เวลา:13:58:35 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 

kerrie
Location :
กรุงเทพ Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed

ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




Friends' blogs
[Add kerrie's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.