Words are a tool to convey meanings of love and care as well as hate, discrimination and indifference. Use them well.
Group Blog
 
<<
กันยายน 2549
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
 
29 กันยายน 2549
 
All Blogs
 

Color-blind Patriotism

------------------------------------------------------------
Even though I am against violence. The most favorite Thai Prime Minister of mine is Mr. Anand Panyarachunti appointed into the office by a military coup (Ro Sor Chor) in 1992.

One of his remarks that has been impressed me most was; "I am color-blind."

In the past few weeks, I have seen 2 groups among the Thais, pro-coup and anti-coup, or yellow and green shirts....

Well, I don't know how to definitely classify myself into... But I do know that I prefer pro-democratic approaches.

At present, Thailand has around 60 some million people in that small yet fertile land.... Ironically, we cannot put the entire population into one place and headcount while they are voting for their faith....

So that's why democracy has come into place and play a role as a system.... From 60 millions, we chose around 500 representatives to represent all of us.... That's the way things are as said in the constitutions.....

Sadly, those 500 representatives failed us.... It's about the quality of those representatives, it's not about the constitutions or democracy... It's because those bad represenatives had been abusing the constitutions....

Are those 60 millions also responsible?

In my humble opinion, yes, they are certainly responsible.... With their votings, they allow bad people: children of mafia, mafia themselves, bad merchants, crooked criminals, military generals with plenty of mistresses and scumbags, to become their representatives.... Can we gun them down or rape them with our fanatic desires in democracy?

Definitely not!!

Understanding and appreciation upon the word democracy may greatly vary among the Thais. Some may have full insight into it and can sacrifice their lives to acheive it. Some may have partial understanding about it, but, admittedly, many just simply don't. Again, can we gun those who don't down or rape them with our fanatic desires in democracy?

Again, definitely not!!

As a matter of fact, regretably, majority of the Thai population don't understand it--I'm not talking about just you and me, I'm talking about the entire population, in general... This may be the most suitable yet concise fact we have and we have to live with it....

We are what we are, and we will be as we are....

Pulling down those politicians down promptly in one time using non-constitutional power cannot solve at the root of the problems; ignorance....

I've chosen my way to use educational yet peaceful approaches to solve it---One student at a time, one class at a time and one school at a time... Although it might take forever to solve the problem of my only but beloved homeland, I would continue to do it.... Because that's what I believe--This is the cause of the entire problem and it's the only way to solve it sustainably and peacefully....

And, yet, I'm "color-blind".... I don't see nor value emotions beyond reasonings.
------------------------------------------------------------




 

Create Date : 29 กันยายน 2549
6 comments
Last Update : 1 ตุลาคม 2549 23:19:24 น.
Counter : 684 Pageviews.

 

Indeed, the coup reflects who we are.

Unfortunately, it just doesn't pass the straight face test.

Take care.

 

โดย: Rive Gauche 30 กันยายน 2549 1:21:58 น.  

 

ผมก็หวังว่า ครูอาจารย์ในระดับมหาวิทยาลัยจะทำแบบพี่นะครับ ..... ผมเคยอยู่ในระบบมหาวิทยาลัยในเมืองไทย มานานมาก โดยเฉพาะเรียนที่ ธรรมศาสตร์แห่งเดียวนี้ ก็ ๙ ปีเลยทีเดียว แต่ผมก็ไม่เคยเห็นอาจารย์มหาวิทยาลัยท่าจะเคยพูดถึงเรื่องศีลธรรม หน้าที่ ความรักชาติ ฯลฯ ที่ต้องควบคู่ไปกับเรื่อง สิทธิ และการเคารพสิทธิ กับความเห็นของคนอื่น ต้องไปด้วยกัน ..... แต่ผมไม่เคยเห็นนะครับ

ผมฝันไปหรือเปล่าไม่รู้ว่า หน้าที่ในการสั่งสอนเรื่องพวกนี้เป็นหน้าที่ของอาจารย์มหาวิทยาลัยด้วย แต่อาจารย์มหาวิทยาลัย มักจะพูดว่า หน้าที่ดังกล่าว ไม่ใช่ของอาจารย์มหาวิทยาลัย เป็นของระดับอนุบาล ประถม มัธยม เท่านั้น ..... ผมเลยได้แต่ปลง .....

 

โดย: POL_US (POL_US ) 30 กันยายน 2549 6:14:42 น.  

 

ยังอ่านไม่หมดและไม่เข้าใจหมดด้วยค่ะ ข้าเจ้ามาจากบ้านนอก การเลือกผู้แทนนั้นแล้วแต่ผู้ใหญ่บ้าน ชาวบ้านว่างั้น ข้าเจ้าก็บอกว่ารับเงินมาแล้วไม่กาให้ก็ได้นี่ ไม่มีใครรู้เพราะเค้านับคะแนนที่เดียว ชาวบ้านก็บอกว่า มันบาป รับเงินมาแล้ว ไม่กาให้ไม่ดี ข้าเจ้าก็ไม่รู้จะทำอย่างไรเหมือนกัน บ้านนอกก็ยังบ้านนอกนะอาจารย์ นักการเมืองบางคนใช้ความใสซื่อของชาวบ้านเป็นทุน ด้วยความยากจน เงินนิดหน่อยก็มีค่าสำหรับพวกเค้า พ่อข้าเจ้าก็บูชาเงินเป็นอย่างยิ่งและมีโอกาสได้ถ่ายรูปการนักการเมืองหน่อย อวดชาวบ้านเค้าไปทั่ว ข้าเจ้าล่ะกลุ้มจริงๆ

 

โดย: แมงซุ้มมืด (Clip ) 30 กันยายน 2549 13:40:58 น.  

 

ขอบคุณที่แวะไปเยี่ยมนะคะ

เรายังไม่เข้าใจประชาธิปไตยดีเพราะเราไม่รู้สึกว่าการเมืองเป็นส่วนหนึ่งในชีวิตของเรา คิดว่ายังมีอีกหลายสิบล้านคนในเมืองไทยที่ยังไม่รู้สิทธิและหน้าที่ของตัวเองเลย ไม่มีการปลูกฝังเรื่องนี้ในระบบการศึกษาอย่างเพียงพอ ดังนั้นมันจึงดูเหมือนเป็นเรื่องไกลตัวและ "ไม่ใช่เรื่องของเรา"

ขอสนับสนุนและเป็นกำลังใจให้คุณ AT ทำเรื่องดีดีแบบนี้ต่อไปนะคะ

 

โดย: the Vicky 30 กันยายน 2549 20:29:55 น.  

 

Dear P' AT

I have posted a comment but it didn't show up. I guess it's due to the word filter. I'll email it to you then na krub.

 

โดย: ruiN 1 ตุลาคม 2549 20:55:01 น.  

 

เห็นเหตุการบ้านเมืองไทยมันเป็นไปได้อย่างนั้น

เราก็ได้แต่เจ็บกระดองใจ

มีอยู่เสียงเดียวที่แห้งๆ แล้วยังแถมกลัวปืน กลัวรถถังอีก

กลุ้มโว้ยยย

 

โดย: PatPDX IP: 72.201.17.28 12 ตุลาคม 2549 4:53:14 น.  

ชื่อ :
Comment :
  *ใช้ code html ตกแต่งข้อความได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
 


amatuer translator
Location :
พิษณุโลก Thailand

[ดู Profile ทั้งหมด]

ฝากข้อความหลังไมค์
Rss Feed
Smember
ผู้ติดตามบล็อก : 1 คน [?]




=================================
Note: My life has been intertwined with works and many others. New responsibility has emerged, resulting less and less time for my ordinary life. Although, a love to write is still intact... But having less time is related to having less imagination.... Therefore, I could not come up with new writings for quite some times.

It might be a good time for me to leave this forum for moment.... Please take it as Mr. A.T. is having a sabbactatical leave or something like that....

As noted above, my love to write is still the same... and will not be changed. Sometimes somehow, I hope I could come back and give some thoughts in this blog once more.

Cheers,
Mr. A.T.
June 6th, 2008

=================================


Hello,

My pen-name in Pantip is amatuer translator. Actually, I'm a lousy translator with lame translation. My pen-name is somewhat misleading, I have no background in linguistics what-so-ever. Anyway I love to read, write and communicate with people...

Reading is my most favorite hobby. I read everything from shopping bags to articles in theoretical physics. I do research and teaching for my living. So, reading, writing, thinking and doing research works are my everyday routine.

I would like to define myself as a person who is accepting new ideas and adopting those into my way of life.

I believe in power of knowledge/education. I think every society can be a better society with knowledge. Ignorance can be dispelled by it. Humanity can live sustainably and harmoniously with each other along with its biosphere with understandings in the nature surrounding it.

Apart from my philosophical thoughts reflecting who I am, I can tell you something I like or love in particular;

I love dogs.... Particularly, labradore retrievers.... One day, I would like to spend my time and life with them as a big part of my family.

Zhuge Liang is my hero. With his wisdom and faithfulness, he led a tiny army to a mighty and formidable kingdom. He left his humble residence with a hope to come back. But, sadly, he had never returned and died far far away from home in a horse carriage in a battle field. If I could choose where I would, I would say where-ever my lovely wife was nearby.

I value happiness and my family as my first priority. My profession and my philosophy come in the second. Pursuit in wealth has never been in my desire.

I'm glad to be your friend, and look forward to seeing you around krub.

Best wishes,
A.T.
Friends' blogs
[Add amatuer translator's blog to your web]
Links
 

 Pantip.com | PantipMarket.com | Pantown.com | © 2004 BlogGang.com allrights reserved.